SEASONS - My writing for the weekendsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Warning: This is not a Christmas post. I'm not against Christmas, on the contrary, I love it. And that's because I love Christmas that I have to write this.

Christmas is almost there, once again. Christmas has become a season, like all other (silly) seasons. It means business, ads, decorations, overconsumption, rather than meaning family or having a real meaning.

Xmas tree on the road 3.jpg

People will only care about Santa. Or won't even believe in him. Few will remember the true meaning of Christmas. They will barely have time for that, rushing and spending most of it in the eager of shopping. After Christmas comes New Year's Eve, and again another rush: where to go, what to wear, how much to spend ... And then Mardi Gras, and so on.

christmas tree.jpg

It will be over, the spirit of Christmas is lost even just before the New Year arrives. The resolutions of the new year are soon forgotten. The euphoria of being Champions (I'm Portuguese ;))... vanishes. And those who dare to recall it being called dumb. Everything happens at the lightning speed, at the pace of Facebook and other social networks. Stories and news go to the bottom of the feed and stay there.

livin the dream.jpg

The waves of solidarity, the greetings are soon forgotten... everything happens at a vertiginous pace, same as our days.
Everything becomes disposable, fashionable... and out of fashion.
Organic, ecological. Bio... degradable.
Christmas dies as soon as it's over.
Disposable.
Welcome the next season, say goodbye to the past season.
Silly.

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

Photos: Disposables as street art, Karratha, Western Australia.

​Taken with my Canon EOS 5D MKIII, edited with Lightroom.

​Have a wonderful weekend, my friends.

​If you liked this post you may like these also:

https://steemit.com/story/@nolasco/you-don-t-know-this-love-my-writing-for-the-midweek

https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/to-save-the-best-for-last-my-writing-for-the-new-week

https://steemit.com/photography/@nolasco/details-of-dili-my-writing-in-the-weekend

Sort:  

We only realize the true meaning of any celebration, not only Christmas, when we miss and/or lose someone dear to us. There is nothing greater than life, and how bad we take it for granted. Your posts are really important, and i really appreciate reading the words of a heart like yours. Keep it coming! :)

You are right... but once we are aware of that we can truly cherish the most important in life! Thanks, my friend!

I keep noticing the same thing too over here in Germany. It annoys me a bit that as soon as Halloween is over, every company is trying to sell stuff for Christmas already. And every person is just rushing around thinking what cheap (not every one of course!) stuff to buy for another just to be done with it.... That is not the spirit of Christmas for me. As a child I loved it but now the wonderful feeling gets lost in shopping malls and advertisement.... That's really sad!
But anyway great post and deep :D

Yes, sweetie, I guess it got almost global. For the countries that can afford it. It's the world at 2 speeds, and I despise first world countries for these kinds of things. Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41