Introducing 6 New Photography Categories And A New Contest Payout Structure

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


Thanks everybody for the follows, upvotes, comments and wonderful photos from you that that I get to see every day here on Steemit


contests.jpg


More and more Steemians are enjoying in the photography contests every day. There is also more engagement as the amount comments has doubled compared last month, while October is not even finished. These are great milestones and show how far we have grown.

I have been getting automated upvotes from several high value users, and combined with the upvotes from the rest of you this enables me to host these contests. Not only do I appreciate every upvote and comment, know that by doing so you also enable me to give more to the community.

To enable and encourage even more Steemians to participate I will be introducing 6 new photography categories. Some are catered towards everyday life, while others are more advanced.

The 6 new categories

animalphotography
Any photo where an animal is the subject, this can be a pet or a wild animal.

travelphotography
Show the world as viewed by a tourist, traveller or explorer. Share great experiences from your travels and inspire other Steemians to go to these places.

vehiclephotography
The vehicle is the main subject in the photo. Any kind of vehicle you can find, think of a bike, train, car, boat etc

cityscapephotography
I want to differentiate landscape photography and cityscape photography into two different categories.

longexposurephotography
Long exposure allows for some really interesting, fascinating and creative photos.

colorfulphotography
As the name says, an explosion of colours!


Payout structure

I will be introducing 3 different tiers each with a different payout scheme. While doing the smartphone contest and selecting 20 photos I noticed it took me a lot of time, as you can image the number of possible selections grows exponentially when making the selection bigger. To make it more manageable for me I will be testing the following structure.

Tier 1: 10 x 0.5 SBD/Steem payout
Tier 2: 10 x 1.0 SBD/Steem payout
Tier 3: 5 x 2.0 SBD/Steem payout

The tier of a category will depends on the amount of competition currently within that category and/or the level of photography required. Longexposurephotography will start as the first tier 3.

An exact overview will follow soon.


banner_contests.jpg


Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and travelphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography


steemvoter.jpg


Useful links

My posting template

Sort:  

Oh, fun! I can't begin to imagine the amount of time you are spending on this! Sure am glad that you are, though! Thanks, Julian! 💕

I believe it is worth it! And also, all the support is allowing me to do so :D

It's a great opportunity for all of us! Let me know if I can help in any way.

Holy smokes. 6 new categories?! I can find myself in 5 of the categories, so I don't complain but this will become almost a full time job for you, shifting to all the submissions!

Question, does it start right away, or starting from next monday? :)

Haha, nice that you like 5/6. That is a good ratio, which one does not interest you?

I takes me about an hour to make two selection, and I think that it well worth it. As for when they start, it will start from tomorrow with the colourfulphotography. I will make a last day post tonight.

That's a very good ratio! I don't 'like' colourful photography. I like nature colors that come together and with colourful I think of photos that just have a buttload of colors in it haha.

Love the new categories @juliank I have lots of animal photos to share ... and a few vehicle shots as well. Great work!

Awesome, I was hoping that animalphotography would be more accessible and well everybody must have some vehicles around to make photos of

It's funny because I was just thinking the other day how good it would be to have a contest for animal photography ;-)

Cool, Hoping that interaction through photography would be promoted more.
Photography is a Language ^.^

I hope so as well! I agree, photography is like an universal language

I thought that was mathematics :)

Hmm, a language that transcends words and numbers!

Thanks for the great support for new users @juliank

You are welcome :D

I can't imagine the amount of time it took for you to go through everyday! Thank you for that!

It takes me about 30 min for a selection. But I am working on methods to make the process quicker. Like automating the prize payout and gathering the title, photo and author data

You are the man :-) I really appreciate the fact that you're giving back and helping the newcomers! It is rare and generous of you..

I think that is what Steemit is about <3

Still, it takes time out of your day to do this. Your efforts are appreciated.

Thanks! I appreciate it. All upvotes do support me and enable me to give more ;)

how much better to give war to our head
thank you for staying active @juliank

Love you @txatxy! What do you mean with 'war to our head'?

I just got back from my month of traveling for work! I'm excited to rejoin your contests and love the additions, especially cityscapes and travelphotography!

Awesome, sounds like a great to get to explore some parts of the world while working. Where did you go and what kind of work do you do?

I work in tv production. I got to see different parts of Europe, Africa, and Asia. Eventually, I will have many pictures to share from the trip but I have a lot of sorting and editing to do before that!

That sounds wonderful, you have done well to put yourself in that position. Looking forward to the footage in the coming day/weeks/months

Nice, hope I can get a camera soon to enter post my entries ! :( Good luck everyone!

You can always use your mobile, I look at composition and creativity before I look at image quality :)

Ok, then I would make a post to see if I'm in ! :D Thanks for that

Great effort...I encourage you by upvoting...Go Go

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78