Through child's eyes - micro-fiction

in #blog6 years ago (edited)



Through child's eyes


As Davey climbed into bed, he remembered his sister’s harsh laugh and derisive words. “You’re such a baby. There’s no Santa!”

He went to the window, which emanated the frosty cold. Was it true? Maybe. But he could pretend. Suzy might have power, but she would never own his imagination.



Thank you for reading my story. I try to write at least one micro-fiction story per week. This one is based on the 50-word contest prompt of "child." I am not, however, entering the contest, since I run it. I just enjoy the process of writing micro-fiction so much that I don't want to miss the opportunity to write from a prompt alongside others.

source: Pixabay

Jayna's signature


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/12/16/through-childs-eyes-micro-fiction/

Sort:  

Thank you for the micro fiction and the great work you do on the block.

I just wanted to let you know that I featured your post in my comment challenge. The short fiction and the Christmas theme was an excellent match for this week's contest.

Thanks so much, @danielsaori! I run a weekly 50-word short story contest. I've just posted the new contest for the coming week: https://steemit.com/contest/@jayna/weekly50-wordshortstorycontestlastweekswinner-0di0et4438.

How interesting @jayna! I didn't know that microfiction was a thing, but I absolutely love the idea of condensing our writing into something powerful and meaningful in very few words. I guess the key is inference; to infer just enough to trigger meaning for each reader, and you managed to do just that :) Well done! I'll have to check out the contest; does it run weekly?

As an aside, I taught high school for years, and one of my students shared a memory of the year he too wondered about Santa's existence, so he chose to hide behind the couch to see what really went on. He fell asleep, but woke to a noise, peeked around the couch, only to see his father putting presents under the tree. Completely naked ;)

Hi @lynncoyle1, yes it's a weekly contest. You can see the newest one here: https://steemit.com/contest/@jayna/weekly50-wordshortstorycontestlastweekswinner-0di0et4438.

I hope you'll try it! It's great fun.

Thanks for sharing the Santa story. That is hilarious!

Thank you @jayna, I'll check it out :)

And you're welcome; that story has stayed with me for over 20 years :)

The really intense and/or funny ones will do that. I can't believe some of the things that pop into my head as being so full of color and detail, like they were yesterday. And then I think, "wait, that was over 40 years ago!"

Right?! Especially with certain triggering tastes and smells!

No one can ever rule or control one's imagination no matter how one tries. Nice story wirh captivating message.

Micro-fiction story? Looks insetesting and trilling. Gotta try it out.

Thank you, @maxijgcomm. Yes, micro-fiction is a really fun challenge. Check out the weekly 50-word short story contest by following the #fiftywords tag.

Alright. I will check it out. Thank you.

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 56000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

from the comment partecipating to Steemit Comment Challenge #45 hosted by @danielsaori

I like Davey, he's a little tough guy! He didn't let her sister to influence him and on what he wants to belive in. At the end he had much more power than his sister, he decided that his imagination belongs only to him. Davey despite he's still a child already knows who he is and what he wants. I'd be curios to read a 500 words version to understand more about the two characters and if @jayna got the inspiraton from reality, maybe she was the overbearing sister in her childhood ;)

Thank you for your comment, @road2horizon! Stories are often based in our past. This one, however, was pure imagination. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

@jayna Little story, but a huge impact. Your micro-fiction caused a macro-friction between illusion and reality in Davey's mind as well as ours!

Thank you for your lovely comment, @marvyinnovation!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Jayna, thank you for that lovely story. Here is a fifty word story I began for "child" but I couldn't finish it in time. https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@owasco/child

Found it! Thanks @owasco.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52