You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Through child's eyes - micro-fiction

in #blog6 years ago

How interesting @jayna! I didn't know that microfiction was a thing, but I absolutely love the idea of condensing our writing into something powerful and meaningful in very few words. I guess the key is inference; to infer just enough to trigger meaning for each reader, and you managed to do just that :) Well done! I'll have to check out the contest; does it run weekly?

As an aside, I taught high school for years, and one of my students shared a memory of the year he too wondered about Santa's existence, so he chose to hide behind the couch to see what really went on. He fell asleep, but woke to a noise, peeked around the couch, only to see his father putting presents under the tree. Completely naked ;)

Sort:  

Hi @lynncoyle1, yes it's a weekly contest. You can see the newest one here: https://steemit.com/contest/@jayna/weekly50-wordshortstorycontestlastweekswinner-0di0et4438.

I hope you'll try it! It's great fun.

Thanks for sharing the Santa story. That is hilarious!

Thank you @jayna, I'll check it out :)

And you're welcome; that story has stayed with me for over 20 years :)

The really intense and/or funny ones will do that. I can't believe some of the things that pop into my head as being so full of color and detail, like they were yesterday. And then I think, "wait, that was over 40 years ago!"

Right?! Especially with certain triggering tastes and smells!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48