A Multicultural Experience with the Local Tradition and Culture of Baguio City, Philippines! Featuring the Igorots | The Frugal Traveler's Guide

in #blog7 years ago

Screenshot_1.jpg

Hello itinerants all over the world and steemit community! Let me share to you an experience of a lifetime. I got the hang of its tradition and culture. Baguio is best known as a gateway to rice terraces built by the Ifugao Tribe more than thousand years ago. The term basically came from the word "i-pugao" which means inhabitants of the known earth For a long time, the true locals of the town are actually the Igorots. They can be seen anywhere in Mountain View part of Baguio City. The tribe is famous for their unique and traditional dress made with a vivid fabrics and colorful headdresses.

Just right at the Botanical Garden of Baguio, there are group of Igorots who are actually camera ready. Igorot means "mountain people". They let tourist to have picture with them with a fee. It depends on you how much you are gonna give them. Seeing life in a mountain province like Baguio is truly inspiring knowing that they have valued and preserved their culture, tradition and identity.

15590679_1366379060048726_8098537630973095350_o.jpg

The Igorots are said to be divided into subgroups. The group which lives in the South, Central and Western areas are known to be the larger group. And those who live somewhere east and north are the smaller group. In the modern world, most people are not aware of the different tribes of the people of Cordillera or known generally known as "Igorots". As the word "igorot" seems to sound offensive for the people of Cordillera, they have been debating which word is politically appropriate to use to refer them. Some are actually just fine being called as "igorots" in general but some wants to be called on their specific tribal names. Just everyone knows, the word "igorot" is a loan word from Spain which was used by Spanish people to refer the savages people in the mountain. When in fact, the Spanish colony wasn't really able to colonize the tribes and doesn't have any influence to their culture and tradition.

They mostly make a living by farming and cultivating the natural resources. Nowadays, some people have learned to adapt the life in the City. Some of them are seeking for better opportunity by going down the mountain, seek for jobs and adapt its way of living. It's just really sad to know that because ignorance and lack of knowledge about the culture and tradition of Igorot tribes, people tend to have misconceptions, misjudgments and discrimination towards them. Even me when I was little, had experienced bullying and called with so many perojative words including "igorot". The word is used by some people to refer someone who has dark complexion, thick curly hair with broad shoulders and bigger legs. BECAUSE OF LITTLE KNOWLEDGE, DISCRIMINATION EXISTS.

That's basically it, I hope people would fathom that the Philippines is actually blessed to have these magnificent ethnic groups for they are intrinsic unique features of the country which maintains and preserves the Filipino Heritage and gives us an impression as a democratic nation. NO MATTER WHICH TRIBE YOU BELONG, WE ARE JUST ONE! WE ARE ALL THE FORMIDABLE TREASURE OF THE PHILIPPINE CULTURE!

Photo 1

YOU MAY WANNA READ MY PREVIOUS BLOGS

1.) PROMOTING STEEMIT EVERYWHERE! I bought a Starbucks Matcha Tea using my Steemit Earning! I am addicted to Steemit as I am to Matcha Tea.

2.) THE MAJESTIC MAGPUPUNGKO ROCK POOLS SIARGAO, PHILIPPINES | THE FRUGAL TRAVELER'S GUIDE | WATCH ON DTUBE!

3.) B&W Portrait Photography of a Candle Vendor | B&W Photography Contest | The Frugal Traveler's Guide

4.) I AM EXPRESSING MY SINCEREST GRATITUDE TO MY 1048 FOLLOWERS! MY FIRST ANNIVERSARY WRAP UP!

5.) Spelunking at Siargao, Philippines ! | Featuring the Flowing Water Tayangban Cave Pool | Frugal Traveler's Guide

6.) I found a Homey homestay in Siargao! | Common Mistakes while Backpacking | Frugal Traveler's Guide

6.) I am sharing my dream/vision board for the past 3 years! | Benefits of Creating a Vision Board | The Frugal Traveler's Guide

CONNECT WITH ME

Instagram: @jee_diez
Facebook: https://facebook.com/itinerantphblog/
Email: [email protected]

Regards,
@itinerantph

1935223_1144336062253028_5636460491250288729_n.jpg

Sort:  

I agree to this @itinerantph

BECAUSE OF LITTLE KNOWLEDGE, DISCRIMINATION EXISTS.

Lack of knowledge tends to lead in bullying which is we all know, a very rampant scene not just in the Philippines but in the whole world.

Also with regards to our ethnic groups in the country, though I have not met one. I hope to God that future generations of the tribes will continue to preserve our Filipino Heritage and not be succumbed into the thought of going down to the city and abandon their roots. For as you've said, they are an intrinsic unique feature of the country.

True. Indeed, little knowledge is dangerous. People tend to neglect them because we never let ourselves understand their culture and tradition. Bullying is never acceptable in any forms.

I once went to Baguio, there is no other place like Baguio for me its really a gateway to heaven! I have taste there strawberry jam but one thing I look to eat over and over again is there ube jam @itinerantph!

Hala sir @nickjon ! The strawberry jam is my all time favorite jam! True, it's the best place specially during summer. I just love everything about Baguio!

Have you tried their ube jam sir @itinerantph! D best gud sir...!

Happy for you @itinerantph i can see it that you are indeed had a great time travelling and exploring wonderful places here in the "Philippines". Thank you for continue sharing the best side of our country. All the best for you and stay safe.

Thank you @chameh! Philippines is really a place needs to be explored. It's my true pleasure to promote Philippine in the community! I highly appreciate your comment maam. God bless you always! :)

hubby and i went to baguio for our first wedding anniversary and i feel inlove with its beauty, people and weather.

Wow, for sure you had the best anniversary at the best place. True, I just love everything about Baguio. @junebride

wow, super post and blog, I was very interested and decided to follow you :) I also invite you and my blog. he writes about fashion and travel, and about other curiosities. I'm already watching you, and count with you too, I'm gonna put Gordon in :)

Thank you for such wonderful words @ingus4321 ! i will visit the blog. Thanks for sharing! :)

@itineranthph, this is really a good post! I'm from Mindanao that is full of indigenous tribes. It's good to know the other tribes from Luzon. It makes me even prouder to be a Filipino.

Hi @bingcaingo ! And so am I. I just wish I can see more of them. I really want to learn more things about our cultural heritage and alike. You truly have a beautiful soul for being so proud being a Filipino!

Awesome traveling post

Thank you @devinesoul ! I appreciate your comment. Rest assured I will be more informative on my next blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80