2018-02-05: Vitamin S

in #life6 years ago

Stats

Cash: 13.1%
Core: 78.2%
Explore: 8.7%
Workout: 40min dog walk
Supplements: Zinc 20mg, Magnesium 300mg
Alcohol: None
Sleep: 11:30 to 6:45am, broken at 2:50am, NOT rested

Shallow Thoughts

What if I told you there was an amazing supplement that could do all the following:

  • Increase cognitive function
  • Improve memory
  • Boost immune activity
  • Burn fat
  • Build muscle
  • Repair injury
  • Reduce depression and anxiety
  • Increase testosterone

And you get all of that with no side effects at all. Would you want to try it? How much would you be willing to pay for it?

What if I told you it's absolutely free?

Still Interested?

Sleep Thoughts

That's right. . . this amazing "Vitamin S" is simply sleep.

If you get as much as you need, your body and mind are able to function optimally.

If you get less than you need, your body and mind suffer.

If you get very little, you are functionally intoxicated.

If you don't get any at all, you die.

Even though we spend 1/3 of our lives sleeping, it often seen as an obstacle instead of a leverage point. If sleeping for one additional hour can make one of my waking hours 3x as focused and productive, then it is a worthwhile investment. Conversely, if I watch one more hour of television before bed, the following morning will be so foggy that it takes 2 hours to do an hour's worth of reading/writing/coding/etc. I have seen this effect play out over an over again in my own life, and it's one of the reasons I track sleep in my daily stats.

So please remember to turn off the TV, close the laptop, lock the phone, and put your head on the pillow as soon as you can tonight. Your tomorrow self will thank you!

Bonus Thoughts

After a good night's sleep, this screen won't look as terrifying:

I restarted my twice-monthly purchases of a fix dollar amount of Ethereum today. I have no idea how long/far/bad this bear market will be, especially since it's exacerbated by drops in traditional markets, but I do know that my crypto allocation is now quite a bit lower than my targets and my cash allocation is higher than my targets, so it's time to restart the drip feed.

551|53

Sort:  

Great life arrangement .. Sleep is one of our activities to rest .. with enough Sleep it will make us fresh again ..
Regarding the trend, I have not dared to do it ..

Regarding the trend, I have no idea how much worse it can get, so I just put in a little bit of money at a fixed interval and hope to come out ahead after a long investment horizon. Slow and steady has worked for me so far, no need to abandon that formula now!

I have to be honest, at first when you listed all those things I thought this was going to be a very good click bait article with a huge twist in the end but it really makes sense. Sleep is such an enjoyable thing to do. I always look forward to sleeping. It's the best thing you can give your body - enough rest.

I'm glad my little setup with the catchy phrase worked! I wanted to hammer home the idea that people are willing to pay so much for shortcuts to all those things, when in reality the solution is already free and easy to obtain.

Sleep is the most underrated thing. Very few of us even come close to getting the right number of hours that we need. I myself get about 5 on a good day, which is severely short of the golden 8. If we all could find a way to get our adequate hours, then we will definitely see a surge in our productivity levels in our waking hours.

Yeah, modern life makes it hard to get that golden 8. I can usually "schedule" around 7 hours, but my daughters still tend to wake in the middle of the night, so getting unbroken sleep is still a rare treat.

I'm sure it is. Being a parent is hard. Doing the best we can is the way to go.

good information. ..dear thanks for.sharing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62