2018-02-02: 🔥 Fire in the Hole! 🔥 (Come for the food, stay for the dog)

in #food6 years ago

Stats

Cash: 12.9%
Core: 75.9%
Explore: 11.2%
Workout: 45min dog walk
Supplements: Zinc 10mg, Magnesium 150mg
Alcohol: 1/2 Sam Adams Smoked Lager and 1/2 New Belgium Fat Tire
Sleep: midnight to 6:30am, unbroken, rested

Shallow Thoughts

There really is something primal and mesmerizing about fire. When I have enough time on a beautiful day to stand in the sunshine and build a fire, it's a truly wonderful feeling. I can't help but be happy when I stare into these glowing embers:

charcoal_fire.jpg

Meat Thoughts

In between taking client calls and walking the dogs, I put together my best Big Green Egg cookout so far. Around 11am I lit the fire and got a 3lb angus chuck smoking over pecan chips at 250F indirect:

smoked_chuck.jpg

After 2 hours of smoke, 3 hours of slow cooking wrapped in foil (target internal temp 210F), and an hour of rest, it pulled to perfection:

best_pulled_chuck.jpg

It was easily the best pulled beef I've made so far. (For anyone who has been following me, you know I've been at this pretty doggedly for over a month - practice makes perfect!) Usually at this point I would snuff the fire and eat my dinner, but my wife had picked up a wild alaskan salmon fillet and some cedar planks, so we gave it a shot. I jacked the fire up to 400F direct, "toasted" a cedar plank for 3 minutes per side, and then cooked the salmon (with avocado oil and salt) for 12 minutes (target internal temp 135):

cedar_salmon_fire.jpg

The cedar smoke flavor was amazing, it'll be hard to go back to non-plank salmon. And dinner was a veritable feast! It was a great way to kick off the weekend.

Bonus Thoughts

This is what happens to the bottom of a cedar plank used to cook salmon. . . it basically turns to charcoal:

charred_plank.jpg

And this is what happens when your Jack Russell Terrier has to smell meat smoking ALL DAY:

beggar_joy.jpg

Don't worry, I gave her a couple bites, she was too adorable to resist! 🐶

540|53

Sort:  

I do not consume meat but my girlfriend is a big fan of the tongue part in the beef. Also, I really like the picture you posted with the fire burning. Have you taken it yourself?

Yes, I took that picture of the fire - that was the last of the hardwood charcoal remaining in the firebox of my Big Green Egg after all the cooking was complete.

A special dinner, a fusion of meat with smoked salmon
I'm very curious about the taste, I'm sure it must be amazing

The smoked salmon was quite a treat - I've had packaged versions eaten cold, but now that I've tasted it fresh off the plank, a normal salmon will seem bland by comparison!

Ah the beef looks so tender and juicy, your terrier must have had a great time smelling it all day haha

Thanks! The dogs certainly enjoyed their little chunks beef and salmon, they've become expert beggars!

haha that the beautiful ones are your stories, that so delicious meat is seen! , the dog as adorable as mine haha ​​could not be left without trying that exquisite that you prepared :)

Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for reading!

thanks to you for sharing and reading me too :)

Would you like to give me a bite, look delicious, especially that fish, look so fresh,, ^^

hahaha that beautiful! and very delicious that meat is seen

Dogs are direct descendants of wolves.

I really like the beef that is in your post, it looks very delicious, many thanks for sharing my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62