Half-Life 3 - A rant about the greatest game that was never made

in #blog7 years ago

Valve, you suck! Sorry, but I had to get it off my chest before I exploded. I’ve been waiting for Half-Life 2: Episode 3 for what now…? Ten years already? Wow, time goes by so fast.

Anyway, it’s unfair to say that one of the most renowned videogame developers ever just plain suck. They gave us so many classic games and even the most exciting software distribution platform of our age. Things wouldn’t be the same without Steam, and we wouldn’t have so many cherished memories without Portal 2, Team Fortress 2, Counter-Strike or Left 4 Dead.

hl2.jpg

And yet, despite being one of the wealthiest studios that exist, Valve managed to disappoint millions of players with a truly cheap move. Releasing two out of three episodes was just unfair, it deceived players in a way that only those small indie studios should be “allowed” to do – as in “sorry guys, the sales were bad, we can’t develop any more episodes and we’re closing our doors.”

But not Valve. Valve has tons of resources, and I can’t even imagine just how many employees working on their current and future games. Not releasing the final chapter of a game was such a low blow, and especially considering that it wasn’t a full sequel, only a short episode that would hopefully tie all the loose ends and give players a somewhat satisfactory ending.

Some closure.

hl2_2.jpg

Instead, no Half-Life 2: Episode 3 or even any kind of solid info on Half-Life 3. That felt cheap. Of all the studios that are used to treat their players right and only release games when they’re done, because they’re striving for the utmost quality possible, Valve was one that I wasn’t expecting to pull such a stunt. Or Blizzard. Or CD Projekt.

To make a somewhat idiotic comparison to a more recent game, can you imagine this scenario: Dontnod releases four episodes of Life is Strange, and suddenly… “sorry guys, stuff happened, we’ll develop new games on a more profitable genre. Thank you for all the cash and screw you”. That would have been fun, right?

But Dontnod isn’t Valve. At all.

hl2_3.jpg

I can’t even guess what kind of internal attrition went over at Valve’s headquarters during the development of Episode 3. But I’m pretty sure that the decision to call it off wasn’t an easy one to make. However, us, players, deserve some sort of clear communication on this matter. Even if they finally announce Half-Life 3 in a year or two, it feels like something was missing from the franchise. And will it continue Gordon Freeman and Alyx’s adventures, knowing that many players nowadays aren’t really huge connoisseurs of the Half-Life 2 canon, or will it be an entire new story?

No matter what happens, we, the players, need some sort of closure. And Valve surely doesn’t seem to be much bothered with that.

Follow me on Steemit @gamingstation for more thinking man’s reviews and posts!
steemit-upvote-comment.jpg

Sort:  

I loved Half-Life 2 but I wouldn't say I'm champing at the bit for Valve to release the third episode. At this point it's too far gone out of my memory that even if it was released I'm not sure I'd pick it up (at least not right away).

If I'm going to be perfectly honest what I'd be most excited to see them release another sequel to would be Left 4 Dead. I was on a huge zombie kick when that game was released and this game really it the spot. The asymmetrical gameplay, the focus on co-op and the shear chaos each game session ensued was amazing!

Left 4 Dead has to make a comeback. So does Portal. But for now they seem stuck on Dota 2 and trying to go where the money is. I mean, Artifact: the Dota Card Game? Really? Is this really Valve?

They could create a new IP every once in a while as well, instead of going after the trends.

I'm pretty sure L4D and HL will return some day, and the day that announcement drops will be treasured by many. But why it is taking so long, I can't imagine.

I agree and disagree at the same time. I wouldn't want them to just release it. Even if it takes a few more years, I want a proper game, but it's doubtful it'll ever come out.

Also, Blizzard has been shit for a while, in my opinion.

Yeah totally agree mate. I'd rather they took their time and did it right but it ain't coming out any time soon I don't think! Maybe never!

Yeah, HL3 is most likely a pipe dream at this point

I think 10 years would be enough to release one episode :) But I guess something went wrong, they weren't agreeing on where to take the story or some other kind of conflict.

I can understand that, but 10 years and a whole lot of nothing? Man, that's rude on their part.

Blizzard is just milking it now, but at least they deliver on their games/episodes. Right now, CD Projekt has my utmost respect, not to mention indie devs such as Playdead (Limbo, Inside).

Sure, I respect CDPR too. Of all the AAA devs out there, they're the only ones I do.

But I disagree on HL3. Valve doesn't owe you to release it, since they didn't promise it. There's plenty to criticize them over, and it's kind of a dick move to not end the story, but they do still provide a service, and what games they do release, they're generally good or great games.

You're right on all of that, but while they didn't promise HL3, they did promise HL2: Episode 3, and they canceled it. So, they sold us an unfinished story for no reason whatsoever.

I only like cliffhangers when I know the ending will come soon :)

Yeah, I get that. I'm not saying Valve are a saint or anything, but they're nowhere near EA or Activision. I still consider them better than Blizzard, who I think have been going downhill for at least a decade and are now akin to Bungie; slimy, corporate garbage who only survive on the brand name they acquired earlier. Up to a point, this is also true of Valve, just that their services are still great, unlike the aforementioned companies.

Well, I hate Bungie. I find their Halo games extremely overrated and so is Destiny. Besides, they don't do anything besides the same game over and over again.

Well, I dunno about Halo, but you get my drift. Both companies did shit that people like, then slid into mediocrity, but still make money because of the brand name that that made earlier, but no longer represent ... at all.

They have evolved... into crap xD That's why I prefer to check some indie devs more and more, nothing beats a nice surprise hit.

es que valve no quiere y no va a sacar ese tercer episodio, asi lo a demostrado durantes los años sin dar un comunicado a nosotros los gamer

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Haha! This bloody thing again! I swear it'll be 2050 and we'll still be talking about how we want Half-Life 3!

It will be released when we have completely forgotten about it xD

Hmm.. I got to say that I honestly do not know if I want a Half-Life 3 now. I mean I love the first and second game to death, and it really sucks that they did not finish the story. But I am thinking the reason they are withholding a third installment is doubt?

Maybe something happened in the company that put the Half-Life project on halt? Like key figures quitting the company. My point is, if/when Half-Life 3 is released, it better be a darned good game. It needs to shine over Half-Life 2 both in story and graphical fidelity.

If they cannot do that, I don't know if I want the game. Or maybe they are just being money grubbers these days and earn to much on Dota 2. XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45