You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Half-Life 3 - A rant about the greatest game that was never made

in #blog7 years ago

I agree and disagree at the same time. I wouldn't want them to just release it. Even if it takes a few more years, I want a proper game, but it's doubtful it'll ever come out.

Also, Blizzard has been shit for a while, in my opinion.

Sort:  

Yeah totally agree mate. I'd rather they took their time and did it right but it ain't coming out any time soon I don't think! Maybe never!

Yeah, HL3 is most likely a pipe dream at this point

I think 10 years would be enough to release one episode :) But I guess something went wrong, they weren't agreeing on where to take the story or some other kind of conflict.

I can understand that, but 10 years and a whole lot of nothing? Man, that's rude on their part.

Blizzard is just milking it now, but at least they deliver on their games/episodes. Right now, CD Projekt has my utmost respect, not to mention indie devs such as Playdead (Limbo, Inside).

Sure, I respect CDPR too. Of all the AAA devs out there, they're the only ones I do.

But I disagree on HL3. Valve doesn't owe you to release it, since they didn't promise it. There's plenty to criticize them over, and it's kind of a dick move to not end the story, but they do still provide a service, and what games they do release, they're generally good or great games.

You're right on all of that, but while they didn't promise HL3, they did promise HL2: Episode 3, and they canceled it. So, they sold us an unfinished story for no reason whatsoever.

I only like cliffhangers when I know the ending will come soon :)

Yeah, I get that. I'm not saying Valve are a saint or anything, but they're nowhere near EA or Activision. I still consider them better than Blizzard, who I think have been going downhill for at least a decade and are now akin to Bungie; slimy, corporate garbage who only survive on the brand name they acquired earlier. Up to a point, this is also true of Valve, just that their services are still great, unlike the aforementioned companies.

Well, I hate Bungie. I find their Halo games extremely overrated and so is Destiny. Besides, they don't do anything besides the same game over and over again.

Well, I dunno about Halo, but you get my drift. Both companies did shit that people like, then slid into mediocrity, but still make money because of the brand name that that made earlier, but no longer represent ... at all.

They have evolved... into crap xD That's why I prefer to check some indie devs more and more, nothing beats a nice surprise hit.

Exactly. I did mention earlier that the only AAA developer I still respect is CD Projekt Red. And I have a feeling this will degrade sooner rather than later. Hope I'm wrong

es que valve no quiere y no va a sacar ese tercer episodio, asi lo a demostrado durantes los años sin dar un comunicado a nosotros los gamer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45