Dabbling in trading, and the results

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I trade a bit in cryptocurrencies. Since around June, I finally took the leap, putting money behind my belief that this cryptocurrency 'phenomenon' was something worth investing in and learning about. Oh sure I had wasted money before that, I even bought a cloud mining contract, if you can believe it (not recommended). But finally I jumped in.

And, like I have heard other's before say (@chrisroberts), I proceeded to make every mistake possible, and learn from them. Thankfully this market has been so bullish, even losing money every which way I haven't managed to actually lose money.

entrepreneur-2411763_1280.jpg
This is not what I look like when I'm trading

So yesterday I spent some time philosophizing with fellow steemians over the @haejin fiasco, and if you don't know what I am talking about - don't go looking for it. Its just a squabble amongst factions who both really feel like they are doing the right thing for the platform.

Anyways, I don't use all of Haejin's calls. And some, I already own. I am a medium and long term investor, at least in terms of crypto markets - where 1 year is mega-long term LOL!

But last night, I closed some open positions that I originally opened with Haejin's recommendation. And I want to share them with you all.

black history.jpg
BLK positions

I completely closed my position with BLK last night. I know nothing about the coin except what I skimmed on wikipedia, and I don't like holding things I don't know about for very long.

But with 81% gains (back of the napkin), I am happy about closing this trade. You can see that I laddered in, only three rungs took, and sold in two lots.

If you are trading and you don't know about laddering, I recommend you check out @haejin's video on Laddering

powr history.jpg
POWR position

Here's another position, you can see that it is still partially open. I took a piece last night as it was up more than double from even the highest rung on my ladder.

My Lessons

Trading is subjective, counter-intuitive, crazy; you could say a lot of things about it. I think patience and risk aversion are the key principles I have learned over the last six months, two things that I think are lacking a lot in the current manic markets.

Haejin is not always very clear on when one should sell, he just shows the charts and his analysis. But I like to milk gains as I go, this insures a minimization of the down-side risk over time. This is basically laddering out of a coin.

And most of all - have fun on Steemit! This platform is not about making money, that we are making money is a BIG BIG bonus.

Make community - that will pay dividends no matter the coin price ;p

Love and Light to All!

Sort:  

Make community - that will pay dividends no matter the coin price

100% right. I do not know much about trading although I do invest in cripto and thank's to you, dear friend will check haejin's profile but what I know for sure Steemit is a great way to find like-minded people and open new possibilities where you haven't seen any.
I just want to wish a Merry Christmas to you and your wonderful family! I am thinking to buy a piece of land soon and start planting even more trees%) of course will be sharing the progress with you!

Image Source

Merry Christmas to you and yours Sasha! Let's make 2018 the best one ever!

Here is to a prosperous new year

2018 is going to be GREAT! Blessings to you S.Ostrin!

Great work! It's becoming easier (at least to me) to make smaller moves for smaller gains. I've also noticed that almost every small trade has been working out. McAffee's daily twitter pump is creating a good opportunity as well.

I started in crypto with bitcoin faucets and gambling on Bitsler, less than a year ago. I remember being so excited cashing out my first etherium, right before it spiked. Then it was on. Now I have a great diverse portfolio.

Thanks for sharing the Laddering post! Helpful info. And great advice to stay away from the great @haejin dispute. Tread lightly when whales are involved.

My creative thoughts on these whales... :)

Oh no, not again+text.png

Neat! Is https://coffeesource.net/ yours? I got here from the link in the top right. Merry Christmas!

Indeed! @kit.andres and I care for it, we try to build interesting and useful tools; most of the easy stuff is already doable with one or more of the tools you listed in your post. So we end up with creative things like selfie albums and table of contents generators ;p

Merry Christmas to you!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

brother one thing which i agree to you cryptocurrency is the big risk investment because big risk big profit and second thing steemit is more than money if you use it for the sake of money than you can't earn if you use for the sake of learning than you earn alot its my think :)

Congratulations @ecoinstant you won a $1 upvote for an Honorable Mention in my Christmas Day 2050 writing contest :

I'm just starting to look at crypto trading so I will be following your posts for a few tips.

Thank you so much for having this great competition! I had a blast writing this - I would definitely consider writing about 2060 ;p

Blessings!

Awesome trading results!

Thanks to @sharoonyasir, this article has been resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I was here for the whole debacle too. It was ugly. That said. I think there is something to be learned, and I have learned a bit from him. Solid advise tho'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44