How to make money from something that is broken.

in #blog6 years ago

I am always looking for a way to make a bit of extra cash as i think we all are now a days, it comes in handy for things like holidays and paying for kids trips and extra lessons like swimming.

So I wanted to share with you guy how I make a bit of extra cash a way from steemit.

If you have read my older posts back 6 months ago you will find that i am a massive car boot fan. but sometimes you just don't make the money you need.

A few years back I got into computer repair it is something that i was good at and now later down the line I still use but in a different way.

I call it free money.
I have friends who work in the business still to this day, and they help me by giving me broken computers, laptops and mobile phones.

This is were I make my money, I don't sell them whole but strip them down as there is more money in the parts than in the whole computer its self.

So lets brake down the cost of a laptop.

20180314_085512.jpg

This laptop has a fault and to get it repaired would cost £100 for parts and labour, the customer who brought it into the shop decided to buy a new one leaving this one to find a good home. (me)

The laptop in its whole state right now is worth about £30 to £40.
but there is more money to be made than just this. everything is worth something on the machine and I'll show you.

20180314_085520.jpg

The back covers such as the Ram and HDD go missing more often than not and these will fetch £5 each or I could sell both for £7.50

The HDD caddy is another thing that goes missing, this can fetch me £5

20180314_085707.jpg

then lets go further in to the machine.

20180314_214151.jpg

The hinges are worth £5 each, these are the most common thing I sell and I love to get a machine that has good strong hinges as they will get me £15

so already I am up to £30 just for 4 items from the machine.

20180314_214257.jpg

So after the first 4 items I start making more money. the possessor above I can get anything from £5 to £10 sometimes more depending on make and speed of it.

20180314_214458.jpg

The back casing is a great thing to sell, people always drop there laptops and brake these, if you can get one that is in perfect condition you can ask for £20 for it.
This one has a mark or two but is in tact and I will probably sell this for about £15

20180314_214616.jpg

The palm rest with built in touch pad and buttons is another £10. these things go like hot cakes in a bakery

20180314_214712.jpg

The screen bezel is another common seller and will sell for about £10. these I normally sell to computer repair shops and its a funny story.
So you take your laptop in with a smashed screen and the guy goes I can fix that, as the repair man is taking the screen out and gives it a good pull these things crack and break, and that is why I sell these.

Also inside the machine there are other things that you can sell that i don't bother.
The heat sink is copper and alloy so I pop these in a tub to save to weigh in later,
the broken screen has a gold connectors on the back and these get saved for later. -bit of gold recovery.

the motherboard you can sell as faulty and get £15 for but I don't see the point in that as why would you want to sell something faulty to some one, its just going to go into the bin. so this also goes for metal recovery too. there are a lot of things on there that can be saved.

So in total just for the few Items I will be selling I will make about £75 for a machine sold complete that I would get £30 for.

I recycle either by reselling or recovery and 90% does not go to a landfill which I think is good going. I am making money and saving the environment.

keep Steeming guys

and until next time

I am @artonmysleeve

Sort:  

Love this idea! Keep going. I do car boots for charity and often people will purchase items off me that have seen better days. They are probably doing a similar thing to do. Brilliant.

Drew you never cease to amaze me.That is ingenious.I have a few old laptops knocking about in my attic.I have to start the whole recycling thing.Theres money to be made in everything.Never thought the different componants would make anything.I had the whole idea twisted.Assumed you would get more for the whole laptop.The mad thing is how you deconstructed it, you prob be able to even fix the intial issue with the laptop with spare parts you collected.Thanks for giving us something to think about there🤔😂

thanks @pamcooks
About 4 years ago I was making nearly £3000 a month doing this, then one of my mine contracts went under and I lost 60% of the electronics I was taking.
I offered free collection local to make life easy for everyone. they knew what I was doing and were happy to get rid of the stuff in there shops.
They make the money from fixing laptops so anything broken they want rid of, the other problem with doing what I am doing is you have to take everything. so even if you cant make any money from it you have to take it, so I have got laptop screens coming out of my eyes.
these you have to get rid of properly, they contain poisons that can kill so its not like you can just through them in the bin and think thats it with it.
i had to use an environmental agency and they charged me for collecting from me so I used to stock pile them until I had enough for one collection.
I can fix 50% of the laptops I get but is it worth it? well no. there is a few things You have to take in to mind.
how long will it take to fix? how much is the part? and once its fixed how old is the laptop.
if the laptop is running windows vista and you want to put a different operating system on it this cost money.
If I get my self a really good machine, say and i5 or an i7 laptop then I do fix them as it is worth more as a whole unit.
Its knowing whats worth what. eBay plays a big part in sales as its the easiest way to sell parts like that. but you still have to remember that eBay take 10% of sales and paypal nearly 3%. its just knowing what can sell for the right money.

It's still the easiest way to sell anything. I have been on ebay since 1999. It's changed a TON but I've tried it all. The audience is on Ebay.

Car boot is like a flea market? Selling things out of the trunk? I've never been to one, but I assume they are like markets here. I'm still getting established with my vintage blog here on steemit. I'm going to work on some how to make money selling vintage and used items for extra money that's the goal. I'm extremely good at it :) I'll tell you what's good to buy and sell. I like what you are doing with piecing out this computer. You can do that with lots of things. People are always looking for a certain piece--

Hello @vgc5000 seems like a long time ago we last spoke, hows things?
Car booting is like a flea market apart from mainly run on sundays and bank holiday mondays, you pay £10 to pitch up, some carboot places let you have as much space as you want, others you get an alloted amount.
the bad thing about it normally they are on a field if it rains the day before you had better stay away as there is no way to get your car out. some places have a tractor and pull you out for an extra £5. the one i like going to is in chesterfield at the football ground this is on tarmac and free parking too.
nice to chat to you again and i hope all is well on the market.

I’d like to hit a few of those!

Mine is in a parking garage, we had a flood once but it was ok no ones stuff was damaged. Did we talk on steemit?

yes not so long ago we talked on another post of mine, cant remember which one like it has been a while ago. I tend to remember all the people I comment and reply to, make it easier to know how to reply to each person.
there is some right good bargens I picked up a table 4 chairs glass for £15 sold it on eBay for £50
I have got loads of stuff from carboots. my house furnished and it probably cost me about 15% of the RRP just by going to Carboot sales.
I think you would like it full of vintage stuff on there. :)

Ah great! YES I remember now- sorry still new but have been following you. My whole house is vintage or used, even the TVs! In estate sales (don't know if they have them there, but it's basically a house full of stuff that no one lives in anymore) TVs are $50 to $100 and nice ones! Now it's impossible for me to pay full price for most things. I live in a wealthy area, so it's great buying. 3 years ago, I got a 12,500.00 custom made sectional couch for $350!!! It was in guest den covered in plastic. It's very current looking, no one even knows it's vintage!

worth every penny. but you let the cat out of the bag and the whole world now knows its vintage :0)

You are stay at home Dad like my husband!!! I got it now, I remembered your name but didn't remember that part. You were one of the first people I commented on :)

That's right, I've gone back through all the reply to me and seen the same. you were a newbie back then lol :)

Pretty sure I'm still a newbie. Do you have estate sales there? Tag sales?

Never heard of these before, is tag sales like when you get a % off your item you buy.
the new thing in the UK at the moment I have seen happening for the last few years is Black Friday, its mad, we get punch ups in supermarkets. lol. all just so they can save a few quid on a new tv. I tend to stay away from them.
Don't no what an estate sale is, we have garage sales some times, I've seen them in little country villages were people get the crap out of their garage and pop a price on it and hope it sells.

Best thing over here is carbooting there is loads around and about, and some real good deals.
charity shops are ok but i try and stay away from them after reading that the owners of these charity shops are making millions a year before the people what need the money even get anything.

hope your well :)

Haha! Black Friday, yes that's a US tradition! You race in, knock people down, wait in line and people fight. It's crazy, I don't do it. Here's what an estate sale is, you will like it :) I pretty much buy everything I can from estate sales. I haven't spent more than $50 on a TV in years. https://steemit.com/busy/@vgc5000/vintage-of-the-day-ever-been-to-an-estate-sale-or-pay-way-less-for-everything

Like i told you before , you are MACGYVER

I love you @krimp you make me chuckle maybe I should have named my steemit account @thejourneyofmacgyver haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37