Vintage of the Day - Ever Been to an Estate Sale? Or Pay WAY less for everythingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Every Friday, Jim (husband) and I go to estate sales.

An estate sale is a house - full of stuff and the owners have passed away or moved somewhere significantly smaller. The sale is usually 2 or 3 days over a weekend. Basically? It's a fire sale, so stuff is cheap. An estate sale company will price it, advertise and host the sale. People wait in line to get in. The die hard dealers are always first in line. Even if it means spending the night before.

Most estates are dated. Insides are 70's, 80's or 90's in style. Right now, homes with 80's and 90's decor are plentiful. Yesterday's estate was no exception. It's late 80's early 90's decor gives it away.
Estate sale 1.jpg

What can you buy?

Usually everything is for sale. From the furniture to cupboards, cleaning supplies, even toilet paper.

You can see above, everything in this living room was for sale. Tip off to late 1980's or early 90's? LUCITE. It's popular on the secondary market so no surprise the table was already sold. Notice the couch really isn't dated. It's very classic and could still be used today (as long as it's in exceptional condition).

A table of knick knacks, dishes, silver, plates, figurines. Plenty of books. I bought one of my favorite books of all time and it's a first edition. I paid $2 and can get at least $50 on Ebay. . I started reading it again last night.
Estate Sale 2.jpg
So perfect for the time. Funky chairs and a frosted lucite table. This table was also SOLD. Pianos are notoriously hard to sell. If the general public understood how many were out there and how many are for sale, no one would ever buy new.
Estate sale 3.jpg
More LUCITE! Notice the tray on the table too. It's a lucite extravaganza!
Estate sale 4.jpg
Lucite hanging pendant lamp!
Estate sale 5.jpg
Tell tale signs of the period. Metallic wallpaper and a sort of decorative wall hanging? Ugggh.
Estate sale 6.jpg
I liked this table. I'm not in the market for furniture and it doesn't match my style but still kind of cool. That's my husband Jim waiting for me. I always take longer to look than him. To the left you will see a shelf. You can put things on it to free your hands up while shopping but use caution. I once had a piece taken from a shelf like that. Dealers can be awful and unnecessarily greedy so if it's something you really want, don't leave it there.

What did I buy? Vintage jewelry, vintage sunglasses, vintage hand towels and a few other odds and ends. There are plenty of secrets to estate or tag sales. Want to know what they are? Follow me and I'll tell you.

Sort:  

I never been in Estate sale. I want to go so bad after reading your wonderful post :)

thanks Preeti! Jim said it was funny, he never notices wallpaper and stuff like that--

I am definitely now following. I've never been to an estate sale, but I do not like buying new (with the exception of underwear and couches). Sometimes I feel like Steemit is a type of thrift shop. You are a gem.

Awww thank you!! That’s so nice of you! I will definitely write more about them. They are fascinating in so many ways, you can save money AND make money too! There’s plenty of shenanigans too. ;) fun stories :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 13:39:25
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 69.85/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Our estate sales start on Thursdays. OMG this is a hall of fame estate sale though...All the amazing MCM!! how were the closets? filled with old goodies too?

Ours used to start on Thursdays when I lived in Detroit. Here it's mainly Friday and Saturday. I've got a friend working on an estate right now, it happens in a few weeks. I've been digging around in basement and closets. Really amazing. I'll share some of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63