You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to make money from something that is broken.

in #blog6 years ago

Drew you never cease to amaze me.That is ingenious.I have a few old laptops knocking about in my attic.I have to start the whole recycling thing.Theres money to be made in everything.Never thought the different componants would make anything.I had the whole idea twisted.Assumed you would get more for the whole laptop.The mad thing is how you deconstructed it, you prob be able to even fix the intial issue with the laptop with spare parts you collected.Thanks for giving us something to think about there🤔😂

Sort:  

thanks @pamcooks
About 4 years ago I was making nearly £3000 a month doing this, then one of my mine contracts went under and I lost 60% of the electronics I was taking.
I offered free collection local to make life easy for everyone. they knew what I was doing and were happy to get rid of the stuff in there shops.
They make the money from fixing laptops so anything broken they want rid of, the other problem with doing what I am doing is you have to take everything. so even if you cant make any money from it you have to take it, so I have got laptop screens coming out of my eyes.
these you have to get rid of properly, they contain poisons that can kill so its not like you can just through them in the bin and think thats it with it.
i had to use an environmental agency and they charged me for collecting from me so I used to stock pile them until I had enough for one collection.
I can fix 50% of the laptops I get but is it worth it? well no. there is a few things You have to take in to mind.
how long will it take to fix? how much is the part? and once its fixed how old is the laptop.
if the laptop is running windows vista and you want to put a different operating system on it this cost money.
If I get my self a really good machine, say and i5 or an i7 laptop then I do fix them as it is worth more as a whole unit.
Its knowing whats worth what. eBay plays a big part in sales as its the easiest way to sell parts like that. but you still have to remember that eBay take 10% of sales and paypal nearly 3%. its just knowing what can sell for the right money.

It's still the easiest way to sell anything. I have been on ebay since 1999. It's changed a TON but I've tried it all. The audience is on Ebay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35