I'm Giving a Talk on the Blockchain, Bitcoin, Ethereum and Steemit at the Famous Pubcon Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA in October 2016steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blockchain8 years ago (edited)

I'm speaking at a famous conference called PubCon in fabulous Las Vegas, Nevada next month. I want to give the best talk about blockchains and decentralized technologies that "Sin City" has ever seen!




Pubcon: The world's leading digital marketing conference

My PubCon Speaker Bio

Supported by the industry’s leading businesses, exhibitors and sponsors involved in social media, Internet marketing, search engines, and online advertising, Pubcon Las Vegas 2016 will offer a week-long look at the future of technology presented by over 200 of the world’s best speakers in more than 120 provocative cutting-edge sessions. Source: http://www.pubcon.com/



The first time I attended PubCon Las Vegas was in 2004(!) Back then Microsoft was trying to launch a seach engine called "MSN Search". That did not go too well. A lot of other things were going well in the tech space though (especailly for a startup called Google).



People from all around the world were earning money online for doing things they loved to do (or, in some cases, just selling whatever the heck they could sell - but some of them loved selling itself so that worked out).



Screenshot from the Nov 15, 2006 PubCon Session Grid. Ted, you are missed.

I met people who had gone from employees to people who were earning so much online that they became millionaires, or even quit their jobs. Sound familiar?

So, it seemed appropriate to make a pilgramage back to that conference, in that crazy city where anything seems possible.




This might have been in New Orleans

I think I'm the only crypto-nerd crazy enough to go give a talk about Bitcoin, Ethereum and Steemit to a bunch of interenet marketers. Crazy like a fox. These people might not have invented the internet, but they are the ones "creating" it every day.

Major keynote speakers including noted digital storytelling expert Debra Jasper, Ph.D, founder and chief executive at Mindset Digital, prominent author and top Twitter influencer Scott Stratten, founder and president at Un-Marketing, search marketing expert Bill Hunt, president at Back Azimuth Consulting, Robert Scoble, noted futurist and entrepreneur in residence at UploadVR, Gary Illyes, webmaster trends analyst at Google, digital media innovator Jim Louderback, and social media strategist Scott Monty, founder and chief executive at Scott Monty Strategies and former global head of social media at Ford Motor Company. Source: PubCon.com



The internet marketers, social media mavens, and SEO experts who regularly attend PubCon are exactly the kind of people we need on Steemit right now.

They know how to write, they know how to share, and they know how to MAKE STUFF HAPPEN online and succeed. When they come to Steemit, they will bring armies of followers.



Not only that, but some attendees are from the old guard of online communities. We're talking way back - like BBS systems run over phone lines. Yeah. But you know what? It's all the same. It's all communities. These people are the best of the best. Special thanks to Brett Tabke, Jeff Randall and Neil Marshall for all they've done to build this conference and strong internet communities.

Please help me make sure make sure they get excited about blockchain technology, and especially Steemit. If I do my job right, some very influential peple will be signing up for Steemit in October.




This is what it looks like when a web based community gets together :) I'm somewhere near the back there. Brett Tabke, creator of WebmasterWorld.com and Pubcon.com is just behind me to my left.



You should really check out Brett's bio. Here's a quote "Tabke has run community networking sites continuously since 1984. The evolution from stand-alone BBS's to forums on the web and his commitment to community building is a logical extension for Brett."

Brett's "26 Steps to 15k a Day" is one of the most widely read documents in SEO history. Some of the info in that post is dated, but guess what - many of those steps still apply to your website and your blog on Steemit :winkyface:. Some things never change.

How can I help you ask?

I'm glad you asked :) One simply way is by upvoting (and if you really want to help, resteeming) this and my upcoming posts about PubCon. Another thing you can do is to help me polish my talk by reviewing my slides. Please email "slides" to [email protected] if you're interested in helping with this - I'll share the Google Sheet with you so you can comment on it. Please include your steemit username in the email as well so I know who you are (and can check that your reputation is OK before sharing). Finally, if you're a "whale" and have some extra SD burning a hole in your pocket I would not turn down financial support to help offset costs. Note that I'm going either way, but this is a self-funded trip so every dollar helps. Cheers.

Sneak Peek at a Slide from my Talk

Thanks

And stay tuned for more updates!

About the Author

Bryan Gmyrek is a full time software developer and lives in sunny Arizona with his beautiful wife, three sons and two golden puppies. He holds a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Arizona based on the particle physics research he did at the world famous DZero Experiment at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory. He has been online since 1993, into cryptocurrencies since 2013, won prizes at three Bitcoin hackathons, and co-organizes the highly technical Blockchain Meetup in Phoenix Arizona for over a year. Many of his videos are popular on YouTube, including his recent SteemIt technical talk. He also blogs about nature photography, dogs, national parks and hiking. Pay no attention to that Tardis. Read more in my top 50 introduceyourself post

Image credits Images are either mine or were pulled from Pubcon.com. Since this post is promoting Pubcon I'm pretty sure this is OK.

Simulposting I posted a variation of this content on my blog at BryanGmyrek.com

Join My Newsletter

Email "heck yeah" to [email protected] to join my new newsletter about decentralized technologies, programming, nature, and more.

Pay Me 100% In Steem Power
To show my support for Steemit, I've chosen the pay me 100% in Steem Power option for this post.

If you liked this post, please consider resteeming it. Thanks.

Follow me @nonlinearone

Sort:  

Thanks for your support :)

Very exciting! Upvoted and resteemed! Please help us show the power of Steem to the world https://steemit.com/steemit/@riosparada/lets-show-the-world-the-power-of-steem-and-contribute-to-it-going-green

Please upvote and resteem

Thanks for your support @riosparada

I'll be in Vegas the 9th-13th, but am heading back to Phoenix the morning of the 13th. I wish I could make it!

By the way, do you have any desire to be a Steem witness?

Hi @shenanigator that's too bad. We'll have to catch up some time in PHX. I do very much have a desire to be a witness - I was going to work on that this weekend but wrote the talk for Pubcon instead :)

That sounds great; I was planning to put together a PHX Steemit meetup soon. After you have everything you need in order, please put a voting link at the end of your posts. You'll get my vote.

Awesome thanks :)

Steemit is great topic to talk about. What I really like are the people on steemit and all the data. Steemit must be a heaven for people studying economic and social sciences. Now we can watch in a very transparent way how a digital economic community unfolds, what creativity and business models they come up with and what conflicts they have. It is a place for learning. Enjoy Vegas.

Thanks for the support everyone, and thanks to those who volunteered to review my slides.
Special thanks to the top five upvoters @riverhead, @complexring, @pharesim, @eeks and @jesta for supporting real world presentations about steemit and the blockchain.
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66