How Bitcoin Saved My Life

in #bitcoin7 years ago

bitcoin-225080.png

This is a story of how Bitcoin saved my life from severe stress and grave danger.

This is not a fictional story. This is a true story. It's my story.

First things first. I'm from India. Things are a bit different in India than in the world.

There is this demonetization move in the November of 2016. On 8th November 2016, the Government of India announced the demonetisation of all ₹500 and ₹1,000 banknotes. People were given a month's time to exchange the old notes for new in the banks. But, the source of the money has to be provided at the time of exchange. The motive of this move is to curb black money.

I stay with my parents and they've deposited some money in my bank account. Remember, the money is theirs, not mine. Which means I had to return the money at some point in time, in the very near future. In the next few days, I've spent some of the money deposited in my account with my parents' consent. With fully their consent.

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 7.44.58 PM.png
(Account Statement of my Bank Account )

[Fast Forward Six Months]

May 2017:

The money is still in my bank account. I had graduated in Bachelor's Degree majoring in Electronics & Communication Engineering. And I was jobless. I'm in search of a job. Everything went well until May.

June 2017:

I've heard of Bitcoin and bought 0.01079054BTC from Unocoin (www.unocoin.com), one of the biggest Bitcoin service providers in India.

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 8.18.31 PM.png
(My Unocoin Account Statement)

Days go on. I've started spending some of the money deposited in my bank account for my personal uses; Like mobile recharges, at the restaurants, movies, web hosting, domains, and more (Forgot to tell you, I'm a blogger and a programmer). By the way, I'm spending every penny without my parents' consent. So, at anytime, they can ask me to give back their money. I started fearing. I'm skipping the "Money" talk every time at home. I'm skipping every situation at home that involves money. I tried very hard to earn money online to pay them back. Told you that I'm a blogger. Here is my blog address: www.dustmoon.com. I couldn't put enough effort to make some good money online. It was totally my mistake.

Days pass by but not even a single penny through my blog. Things are getting really bad.
Bitcoin's on the rise. It's rising all the through the days. I started to feel better. Just a bit.

August 2017:

One of my most trusted friends promised a job and I had to pay some charges to the consultation company in return. I'm paying to the consulting company, not to my friend; I thought. I paid a good sum expecting to get a good job. I thought I could pay back my parents from the salary I earn from my job.

But God has different plans.

Very nasty plans. No one would expect things to go that crazy.

[The Next Day After I Paid My Friend]

I called him over the phone. No response. He is not attempting my call. Assumed he was busy. I sensed no bad. Called him the same night. No response this time too. Again, I thought he was asleep.

The next morning I met him at the roadside. I asked him about the status of the job. Now here is where the things went crazy. "What job?", he asked. I thought he's joking. But his face was too serious to be joking. No way one could act like that. Not even the Oscar winner, Leonardo DiCaprio.

I can't believe what's happening. I was angry and pulled him by his collar. He just pushed me back and left the place on his bike. I was cheated. I was betrayed by the person whom I thought would never do such a thing to me. Later that day I tried calling him several times over the phone. No response and switched off, later.

At this point, I can't proceed legally. Because, if I complain at the local Police Station, my parents would get to know about the matter. I called another friend of mine and explained the situation. He's puzzled.

The only way I could pay back my parents is to work somewhere. Being a graduate in a technical subject, my parents wouldn't allow me to work as a customer executive or in a job that doesn't require any technical expertise. I started applying for companies. Software companies. No positive response yet. Searching for a job. Searching and still searching. Wait for the big moment.

September:

I use Cloudflare for my blog. One day, they sent me an email asking me to apply for a Google program. If accepted into that program, I may receive Google Cloud credits. I made some plans for the big party. But I strongly believed that I wouldn't be accepted. But no, I was accepted.

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 9.32.41 PM.png
(Email Confirmation From Google)

Now I have $3000 Google Cloud credits.

I executed the plans. NiceHash and 8 x Nvidia Tesla P100 GPUs. The resultant is a giant beast with an incredible computing power. You know what I did with such a mammoth computer. Bitcoin mining. Yes, it was that simple. NiceHash made things easy. I just exhausted all my Cloud credits. Got some good amount of Bitcoins. All safe and sound in my Unocoin wallet. Still not enough. Still a long way to the target amount.

[Fast Forward Two Months]

Early-December:

No job yet. But the only good thing is, Bitcoin's on the rise. Kept rising. A sharp rise. Somewhere, I'm feeling like Bitcoin may come to my rescue. My blog isn't running well. I had an Apple MacBook Air and started learning iOS Development. Personally, I'm a fan of Apple products.

Present:

"LUCK Factor" comes to me once again. Again, Google. The Google Cloud platform has USD as their default billing currency until mid-December. After that, they've added INR as the default currency for my region. Here is the best that could have ever happened to me. There's a BUG. Bugs in software are very common but they will cost a lot. Very good bug to me.

There's a bug in Google Cloud's billing system. Remember? I told that I've exhausted all my credits. But due to the bug, I was once again given the credits. And they're ₹1,96,282 in my local currency.

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 10.05.58 PM.png
(Google Cloud Billing Dashboard)

Big plans again. But this time, not Bitcoin but Ethereum. Ethereum mining is more profitable. Booted up beast once again. 8 x Nvidia Tesla P100 GPUs running Ubuntu 16.04. More powerful and more efficient this time. Pool: ethermine.org. I got unexpected results. Mining was extremely powerful and highly profitable.

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 10.19.43 PM.png
(Ethermine Dashboard)

I've made much more money than I actually need. Lots of money. No debt. So, I placed a withdrawal request for only the amount to cover by debt. A day later, my bank account:

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 10.25.10 PM.png
(Bank Account Statement)

Revelation: THIS IS A WORK OF FICTION. This story is a result of month's hard work; I THANK SRI RAM FOR THE EDITS. THANKS FOR READING!

Sort:  

Hi. I am @greetbot - a bot that uses AI to look for newbies who write good content.
I found your post and decided to help you get noticed.
I will pay a resteeming service to resteem your post,
and I'll give you my stamp of automatic approval!
greetbot's stamp of approval

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was payed by @greetbot
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Congratulations @praneethkarnena! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @praneethkarnena! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65