Crypto Tips UNPLUGGED: Why Bitcoin?

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

whyimage.jpg

Having gone through the pubic schooling system in the US I can speak from experience just how little we are taught about this world and things that are genuinely important to be aware of if you want to succeed.

It’s something that few people come to realize on their own, and sadly this is mostly due to some kind of terrible experience or situation that causes distrust in “the system”.

When I speak to people about Bitcoin, and they seem genuinely interested in learning more, perhaps it’s mostly due to the investment opportunity, which of course I can’t blame them, but I always get this strong sense of responsibility to encourage them to understand why bitcoin exists.
Of course, you should never invest in anything you don’t understand, but there’s something much more important to learn here.

Bitcoin is different, proof of this is found in the fact that it’s lead to an explosion of new technology and it has created countless opportunities for people to become a part of this new tech. We’re seeing a new generation of people who have learned why Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies exist and I think it’s a very good sign for things to come in the future.

If the world as we know it worked perfectly, and the governments and banks and those who hold real power were honest and perfect like they would like us to believe, Bitcoin and subsequently blockchain technology wouldn’t need to exist.

Nearly every aspect of Bitcoin was designed to address the short comings of things like big banks and overreaching governments.
Think about it, Bitcoin is hard digital money, this means there is a known finite supply which can never be counterfeited. The blockchain enables transactions to be verified without the need of a third party, a third party which always ends up drunk with power and ultimately is a very weak link for the entire network. Bitcoin enables you to own your capital. Truly own it. You can send it across borders, to anyone, anywhere within minutes without asking for permission from your bank first to gain access to your own money. The rate of inflation or rather, deflation of Bitcoin is set in its code, not by some arbitrary government’s decision.

It wasn’t created on a whim, or by accident.

It took many years and many failed attempts before Bitcoin came into fruition. Years of so many people dedicating their time, energy and knowledge all for the sake of offering a better option for people like us.

Today I want to encourage you to become curious as to why these cypherpunks were so inspired to create something like Bitcoin.
I want to encourage you to open your eyes and try to see this world from a new perspective.

Question things.

  • Why are things the way they are?
  • How did we allow them to get this way?
  • What can we do to remedy it?
Sort:  

Bitcoin (and other cryptos) is trying to chart our current architecture of governance, finance, and business. A total paradigm shift. Its an exciting time to be alive.

I wrote an article on my long-term outlook of Bitcoin's price. If you're an investor, I would recommend checking it out!
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@cryptomeeks/j1cajwap

I can't even remember the year but I guess it was a long time ago because I feel much older now. I stumbled across a news story coming out of California, they were talking about Bitcoin. That was the first I'd ever heard of it.

It was a mainstream style news report. They were basically calling it play money while interviewing two homeless men sitting outside of an establishment stealing wifi so they could somehow mine this magic money. The one guy is like, "Yeah, I can probably get about 1 beer a week out of this."

The way it first stumbled into my life made it easily forgettable. I wasn't interested in one beer a week. I think back then I drank about six per day after work.

So, that was that. A couple years later some dude I knew from a chat room offered to give me 100 bitcoins. He said it wasn't worth much, so I wasn't interested.

Then this place literally fell into my lap two years ago and because of people like you, things finally started to make sense.

Thanks for making me feel like crap for not getting in on this sooner when clearly the world was trying to tell me something and I wasn't paying attention.

Ha! I'm just messing around. Hope you enjoyed my impromptu life story.

Hey mate.

We all have our bitcoin stories.. I'm always on the lookout for the next bitcoin, while still remembering we at some pretty nice lows right now.

Take care.
Nick

@heiditravels Smart Woman, Public Schools not So SMART..............

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

If you haven't registered for our airdrop, now is the time.

Guess what? Our BlockToken airdrop is extended until the 31st of October.

BlockToken is undertaking a massive 15 million token Airdrop!

We are preparing to roll out the next-gen EOS based token issuance platform and are rewarding the community to register for free BLT Tokens.

For more information checkout our website at https://blocktoken.ai/airdrop

Register now! See you there!

Who does the airdrop go to?

Congratulations @heiditravels! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 49000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

If the world as we know it worked perfectly, and the governments and banks and those who hold real power were honest and perfect like they would like us to believe, Bitcoin and subsequently blockchain technology wouldn’t need to exist

I agree with that. In my country corruption has been a total disaster. I Hope this new tech helps to improve our situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33