Ten Years of Bitcoin

in #bitcoin5 years ago (edited)

Bitcoin hit it's 10th Birthday today. What a ride it has been. In many ways I believe Satoshi Nokomoto (the creator or source of bitcoin) knew from that very day he introduced his/her white paper, how popular his/her creation would become. He/she know in many ways the sole idea of internet currency, with no limitation or restrictions, transparency, and security would take the entire planet by storm.

10yearsbtc.jpg

Bitcoin started off as a cool way to interact and transact with friends, mining currency, and learning about cryptography. I believe many of the early, large capital investors found bitcoin in 2011. Even though the cryptocurrency right now is sitting much lower than the ATH. It's seen massive growth. Investors only 6 years ago paid one dollar for what is now worth over 6000 dollars.

That's an incredible amount of growth. If you look at the crypto market as a whole. It's growing, more developers are joining. The entire space grows even more diverse by the day. This is good for the internet as I believe blockchain technology can improve many aspects of humanity. It can bring people from all cultures and backgrounds together.

Bitcoin turning 10 years old is a milestone. This reason being, it has lasted an entire decade without being hacked, or 51% attacked. This gives technologies like Steem a lot of hope, as Dan and Ned (Steem's creators) based much of Steem's technology under the influence of Satoshi's whitepaper. Bitcoin Pioneer Ross Ulbrich wrote a letter about Bitcoin's birthday, celebrating 10 years of use, and he did so from his prison cell. You can find it here.

The battle for the future P2P money is currently underway, what coin(s) will you hold?

If you enjoy my work, consider supporting my team, by voting for @graylan as a witness on Smoke.io. Another method to support us, is by purchasing a plan from One Love IPFS.

Sort:  

Nice article, Gray.

Reading things like this really make me wish I had gotten on board the crypto train years ago; not just for money or for trading purposes (though that would be nice as well), but because of the fact that this is one of the most important changes to the socioeconomic climate of the 21st century.

What is happening with bitcoin and altcoins right now has the potential to change the financial landscape of the entire world, and I am still blown away by the fact that this technology isn't more mainstream by now. It's gaining some headway, but it's still not there.

As for my vision of the future, I really like Stellar Lumens, and I am hoping that the Starlight system they're currently demoing will be as useful in practice as it is in theory. I also believe in their vision for bringing banking to the unbanked.

Cardano is pretty unique in what it does (or will do...), but I'm still waiting on them to break out. I believe in the idea of ADA though. Their next roadmap update is coming soon.

Qtum is a currency I had high hopes for, but they seem to be buckling a bit on their proposed roadmap. I still hold mine, but I don't know for how long.

And lastly, Pivx. Of all the privacy coins, I really believed in their vision. A bit has changed from my perspective, and I sold mine after s3v3nh4cks, once of their founders, showed a serious lack of character in my dealings with him. Solid currency, pitiful leadership/representation.

I hold a few others, but no great sum of anything, really. It's just change at the moment, until my wife graduates school.

What coins will you be holding Gray? Are there any that really stick out in your mind as being a cut above the rest?

Currently I hold Litecoin cash, Steem, and Smoke. I enjoy DPOS but I also see value in a Hiveminng setup on PoW. (DYOR) I'm not a huge fan of cardano, privx, or QTum. The reason being is that I haven't used any DAPPs or services that utilize them. I tend to only hold coins I use frequently and transact with. I don't see much point in holding a coin I don't have a use for in real life.

Thanks for your nice article. 10 years maybe it is short for the entire human history, but it is impotant, coz btc has opened a new door for us on how to use currency and helped us to understand the concept of " fortune" in a better way. Btc, keep on leading the future!

I believe BTC fell behind the times, as it's incredibly hard to upgrade it's code. This gives coins like Steem, Smoke, LCC and chance to shine. :) But i agree. BTC's invention opened up that door to all the other opportunities blockchain technology will provide to us in coming decades.

Congratulations @gray00! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gray00! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89