A Hiker's Teapot

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

Nope, that's not mine, mine looks way different. And yes, I have a soft spot for making tea and coffee anytime, anywhere, so I do have everything I need to be fully autonomous when it comes to making drinks or food.
Anyway, this beauty I encountered on my way up an valley in Kyrgyzstan to a place called Altyn-Arashan.
We - I and two French guys I've met in Karakol below - were making our way up to these famous hot springs, which eventually ended up a strenuous 10 hours hike further, on the next day. After a night of drinking vodka in a homestay among mountains that was really hard to pull off. I barely made it at all, on the hardest final part I almost faded a dozen times. But the mountain lake Ala Kul in the end was worth it.
I don't drink much, but my French companions and some Swiss girls wanted to try drinking vodka the Russian way. So I taught them, getting wasted myself but I wasn't as wasted as the rest. On the way down I experienced a moment of pure happiness, caused by the victory over my own weakness. Those moment are so, so hard to come by these days...

LocationKyrgyzstan, Altyn-Arashan
SettingsISO 100 f/3.5 1/250
CameraSony Alpha 5000
LensSony 3.5-5.6/16-50

If you liked this post, consider giving it an upvote or resteem. Follow me for more cool stuff and stay loco!

Me on the other platforms:

ENG:
Steemit
Sola

RUS:
Golos


To view my posts on @SteemitWorldMap click here:
Logo.jpg

「My recent posts」
Somewhere in Haiti
These boots are made for walkin'
Rooftops of the Colonial Quito
The Prettiest River Confluence I've seen so Far
Going Macro
A Glimpse of Paradise

「My best stories」
Sectants and magic potions, Ayahuaska experience in Colombia
Haiti: Poverty, gangsters and UN party
Exhausting ride along the border of Afghanistan
Overnight adventure in Haunted Bhangarh, a Ghost Town in India
Beheaded Goat and Bloody Idol above the Clouds in Himalayan Temple

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

I'm not a hiker; but, I have no doubt that one of the first utensils that the hiker takes is a teapot or a coffee maker; so I think the historical value of that teapot that you found is immense: who can tell how many people have talked and shared around it and in how many trips has it participated?

The teapot is an artifact whose origin dates back to China and dates from the fourteenth century. At the beginning they were made of bronze and other metals and derived from some bowls, which were used for other beverages. But then, they evolved until, currently, they reach an immense variety, with very sophisticated types and classes for all tastes... Although it is likely that older teapots exist, the first dates back to 1513 and is attributed to Gongchun. It is currently in the Flagstaff House Museum of Teaware.
供春壶.jpg

Legend has it that the Gong Chun teapot, today at the National Museum of China, was made by a monk's servant at the Jinsha temple in Yixing. Its flattened spherical shape with its irregular surface imitates a tree canker. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gu_Jingzhou)


I don't know if you did a post about Ala Kul lake; but, for what little I could see on the web, it's a simply spectacular landscape:


The lake of glacier origin Ala Kul, is a pearl hidden up in the mountains Tien Shan .
"It is located at an altitude of 3532 meters, it is small: with an area of less than 1.5 km. But the depth can reach more than 70 m. When you look at it, it is as if the Ala Kul lake was in a colorful bowl of rocky ridges with white layers."

Greetings...

Those were among my first posts on steemit, when I had no following whatsoever. I might revive some more photos in time.

I think it's a good idea.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-hiker-s-teapot


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello nameless-berk. That teapot that you found will serve as a trophy and a beautiful memory of your journey through those mountains and valleys of Kyrgyzstan. Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30