And So We Dance - V

in #bellydance7 years ago (edited)

Uff, I feel the long-term tired kicking in. It's been a bit of a rat race. But, hey, look at me, I finally feel like a true millennial, having won the first place in the nomination - adult oriental duet - due to absolutely no competition. This is my - "I had the guts to step on the stage" medal.

In all fairness we did do a good job for our own capabilities, but it still feels a bit silly, knowing that we could have just gone out there and do whatever the hell we wanted and still get the first place. Just stand there awkwardly. Smile and wave, or do something silly like that. This was a true disappointment to my lady duet partner in crime.

So, I guess we're going to another contest already in April, just to get a real feel for what an actual competition feels like. Hopefully, I'll know the dance by then (chuckles). I mean, hopefully, by then it's reasonably polished to withstand a test of an actual contest.

Oh, right, and I need a new vail by then. What on earth happened to your vail, Josie? You may ask. Me. And my 5 AM brain is what happened to it. And an iron sized hole. As if I didn't know any better. I did. And yet there I was, standing with an iron in my had, stunned by my own stupidity, mentally struggling to accept the outcome as if I could still wish it away.

Me and vails, man, we really don't mix well together. Someone always ends up getting hurt.

So how did I fix my vail crisis? Well, since we had loads of time, I managed to sew it to the best of my abilities. It surely wasn't perfect and was breaking differently, but as seen in the picture, it wasn't tragically noticeable. The darker line in the far corner is where the hole was.

With vail fixed and the makeup done, we still had a lot of time to watch other performances, practice our dance, be goofy and silly with tons of selfies and pretty much have a blast, to the point we didn't even really manage to stress ourselves out about the upcoming performance.

We even got compliments on our costumes from the event organizer herself. She joked that if we ever got tired of them, she would gladly buy them over from us.

As for the performance itself, I hope to get a video of it eventually and if it happens to be reasonable enough, I might even share it. Will see, if/when I get it.

But now, I curtsy and bid you all an early goodnight, so that I get enough of that good, soothing sleep to start a whole new Monday again tomorrow. Half of my sub-teem at work has been sick so we've worked the skeleton crew of the two of us last week. I hope they feel better soon, but if not, we're still going to stand strong and hold the fort (whilst trying not to get too distracted by all them spring-like feels).


Hugs & yeah, I'm off to sleep..
~Josie~


Previously on "And So We Dance":


Sort:  

Oh I’m sorry to hear about the ironing disaster with your veil. I did that with my favorite dress when I was a child, and I have never forgotten the trauma! It happens so fast and it’s so irreversible! Good luck with your competitions!

/ᐠ.ᴗ.ᐟ\

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65876.23
ETH 2700.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86