Friday Craft Brew Series - Mikerphone

in #beer7 years ago

Friday Craft Brew Series.png

Friday Craft Brew Series

Welcome back everyone to Week 9 of the Friday Craft Brew Series. I was able to make it to a new brewery this past week so I'm focusing on beers just from there.

The brewery is Mikerphone Brewing, and as the name suggest, everything is music related. Rock music specifically. The place is decorated with amps, guitars and microphones all over the place. The taproom is pretty small, but we didn't have any problems finding a place to sit. All of their beers come in 12 or 6 ounce pours. I usually never order the small tasting pours, but there were so many beers I wanted to try I ended up ordering a couple of the 6 ouncers.

20170722_214226.jpg

From talking to the bartender the place is usually a little more crowded than it was when we were there. They have a pretty big following, and I saw multiple people come in just to buy a few of their bombers to take home. But enough about the brewery.

Now, Onto the Beers...

20170722_201646.jpg
Special Sauce Viv Secret

First up this week, Special Sauce Viv Secret, a New England Style Double IPA coming in at 8.5%. This beer has the look of a NE IPA for sure. It is Golden Amber in color and opaque with a small foamy head.

For a Double IPA the hop smell is not as strong as I expected. The hops are definitely there, but only slightly, you get more of a citrus and spice smell than anything.

The beer initially has a citrus flavor that evolves into the bitter hoppiness you would expect with a Double. On top of the citrus and hops is a spice flavor that hangs around the whole time. The spice definitely balances out the bitterness of the hops. All in all, with the citrus and spice this is one of the lighter flavored Doubles I have had in a while. The combination of flavors works for me. This is a good beer.

MK Beer Scale: 91/100


20170722_202344.jpg
Weisse Weisse Berry

Next up, Weisse Weisse Berry, a Hefeweizen style beer coming in at 7.35%. This bee was a dark orange color, real opaque and had almost no head. It was a little darker than I was expecting for a Hefeweizen.

There was almost no smell to the beer, but what little scent you do get is spices. For having berry in the name there is no berry smell at all, kind of surprising.

To me this is not a Hefeweizen beer. The initial taste is sour, not extremely tart, but sour nonetheless. There is berry flavor for sure but not nearly as much as I expected. This is not a sour beer, but I don't know how else to describe the initial taste. It has more sour characteristics than any other beer style. The second sip I took actually ended up tasting sweeter than the first, and with more berry flavor, more along the lines of what I was looking for. The flavor actually balances out as you drink it and the sweet berry flavor lasts a medium amount of time. This beer started out strange, but actually ended up being great. This is something I could drink a fair amount of.

MK Beer Scale: 93/100


20170722_210730.jpg
(Nothing but) Flowers

Last beer for this weeks post, (Nothing but) Flowers, a Berliner Weisse with Hibiscus Flower (man, I feel like a hipster typing that up), coming in at a lowly 4%. Still being on a sour beer kick I was really excited to try this one.

The beer is a vibrant red color, semi-opaque with very little head. Visually, it is exactly what I would expect to see for a sour beer. The smell is right on point for a sour as well. Tart smelling with notes of fruit and berries.

The first sip is TART! Very tart, and that tartness builds! It has a pomegranate taste to it, without any sweetness. The tartness is good when you have the beer in your mouth, but once you swallow the aftertaste ends up being slightly bitter, again, similar to the feeling you are left with after you eat a pomegranate, just without any sweetness at all. Overall this beer was kind of disappointing. It was a really tart which would have been fine, but the aftertaste ending up bitter kind of ruins this one. It is still a good beer, just not up to the sour standard of a Paradox Brewing or even a Une Annee in my opinion.

MK Beer Scale: 90/100


Thanks so much for checking out the beers this week everyone, I hope you enjoyed hearing about them as much as I enjoyed drinking them! I still have a couple more beers from Mikerphone in my notes, so I may put up a midweek post to finish them off. In the meantime, enjoy this pic of my friends and I at the brewery!

20170722_202854.jpg


Part 1 - Sidelot Brewery

Part 2 - Third Space Brewing

Part 3 - Italian Beers

Part 4 - Consume

Part 5 - Randoms

Part 6 - Bubbler, Hoptronix, La Seul X

Part 7 - Apex Predator &Margarita Gose

Part 8 - Cloud Buster, Bottom Up Wit, & Hop Slice


Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow! STEEM ON EVERYONE!!!

Sort:  

Yo dude, if your on a sour kick... I volunteer with the brewer that started the first sours project in Asheville and would be happy to send you a bottle sometime if your interested! Just feel like spreading the microbial love haha! xD

Ummm. I would 100% love to take you up on that offer! I'm out camping for the weekend, but lets link up when I get back.

Sounds good man!

These beers that you found are they easily located or they specialize to that particular bar?

Also you mentioned some taste are a little more like fruit ,you also made a comment about their tartness and sourness. Would you correlate fruit taste to sweetness?

If yes, then this is something I should try?

These beers you won't find down by you, unfortunately. I wouldn't say that the fruit flavor correlates exactly with the tartness always, for these it kind of did though. These one's you might not be that into...especially not the first one.

Your making this beer hunt WAY to challenging. Most of those aren't even real, are you making these up? :-D

ps. I think we are getting close to finding a sweet beer for me. I can feel it in the beer air. It is coming.

The beer air xD lol It will happen...matter of fact I just had a stroke of genius. I don't know why I didn't think of this beer sooner. I know the perfect brewery for you, and you should be able to get it around you! Now I just need to find some time for me to make it to the brewery...and it isn't one I am actually a fan of so this could be a challenge, even though it is less than 10 minutes from my house lol

Stroke of genius, perfect brewery for me, and around me??? What is this magical answer you refuse to tell me!

Bro, after the last 7 days I do not even want to look at a beer. This visit is going to kill me..LOL. Though, outside of the first IPA those beers don't look bad!

LOL, I think the only thing that you need right now is probably more beer, better to just stay in that nice haze for the rest of the trip and deal with the consequences when you return hah

I just came across your page and looked through your reviews.
Awesome stuff! Definitely giving you a follow, from a fellow beer enthusiast as myself

Great! I love meeting all the beer lovers on Steemit! Appreciate the follow. I am hoping I can get my brewing equipment back from my Dad soon and start putting up a few home brew posts.

Awesome I look forward to that!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mk40 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @mk40! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55