PerspectivessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #awareness6 years ago (edited)


also here

When was the last time you saw things through the other person’s perspective?

My purpose of writing on Steemit is to share my thoughts, processes, wins, and losses.

Something I’ve realized though is the waning of the art of active listening.


Active listening isn’t something you do with your ears.



Have you ever caught yourself not giving yourself enough time to process what you’ve heard?

That’s because we are so in a rush to add to the conversation without knowing exactly what we adding our 2cents to, we can’t wait for the other person to finish so we can feed our narcissistic side, our ego, and play with our collection of masks.

We are so consumed​ with the self.

Personally, to strengthen this habit of actively listening more, I’m loading up on more breath mints, use more of my other senses, ask more in-depth questions to see the bigger picture.


There’s a reason why you have 2 ears, 2 eyes, and 1 mouth.


Let me leave you with this, you’ll never know what someone’s​ going through when you’re not empathetic to what they are feeling and that’s where you want to get connected with to get the whole picture - feelings.

Lack of empathy hurts more than anything, always leave people better than you found them.

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 10.88% upvote!
I was summoned by @micscrypt. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82