Entry for Artstorm Contest #17 - The Meaning of Easter

in #artstorm6 years ago

16 P_20180401_174150_HDR-01.jpeg

Greetings Steemians! This is my entry for Artstorm Contest #17.

Tools and Materials:

  • Water
  • Buncho Poster Colour
  • Mala (IKEA) Paint Brushes
  • A Pallette to mix paint
  • Tissue paper to absorb excess water
  • A HB pencil

1 P_20180331_181902-01.jpeg

All my tools and materials


2 P_20180331_185916_HDR-01.jpeg

First, I drew a basic sketch of my artwork using a HB pencil.

3 P_20180331_194312_HDR-01.jpeg

Using the wet-on-wet technique, I painted the background. I brushed some water lightly first, then picked up the colours that I wanted using the same brush and painted them. Then, I let it dry and repeated the same process again to intensify the colours.

4 P_20180331_204713_HDR-01.jpeg

I painted the Easter eggs with different colours using the wet-on-dry technique. I also added some designs on them to make it more cheerful so they won't look plain.

7.jpg

Then, I painted the pot using the wet-on-wet technique with a plain golden shade and left it to dry. In the meantime, I painted the flowers and flower buds.

10.jpg

The pot area has dried. So, I added some shading using darker tones and added designs of flowers in the colours of rainbow.

11.jpg

Then, I started painting the grass by making strokes of greens.

14.jpg

I made many strokes of greens by mixing the dark green, light green and the golden colour that I used to colour the pot earlier.

16 P_20180401_174150_HDR-01.jpeg

This is the completed artwork.

The Symbolism of Easter Eggs

Easter is a festival that is celebrated to remember the resurrection of Jesus. There is one thing that I did not understand about Easter. That is, what do eggs have to do with Easter? To get a better understanding, I did some research and found an answer.

"Easter eggs are said to represent Jesus’ emergence from the tomb and resurrection."


It is an ancient tradition to decorate eggs for Easter. It was prohibited to eat eggs during the Lenton season, which is the period of fasting and penance. Hence, the eggs are painted and decorated instead to be eaten as a way of celebrating at the end of the fasting. Many people follow this tradition and do it together as a family from decorating the eggs to participating in fun games such as egg hunting. It is also a great way to include children in the preparation and the celebration of the festival. I wish everyone a Happy Easter. xx

Source: EASTER SYMBOLS AND TRADITIONS

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

My recent posts:

ART : Realistic Eye Drawing | Pencil Drawing | Step by Step Drawing Tutorial
"You Can't Do Anything Right" | Walking on Eggshells | "I Love You but Not Your Flaws"
Poster Colour Artwork: Simple Flower Painting - Step by Step Painting Tutorial
ColorChallenge: Wednesday Yellow Chrysanthemums
Relationship: A Pledge for a Safe Relationship | The Dating Pledge
NEWS: CONTROLLING or COERCIVE ABUSE is now a Punishable CRIME Up To 5 Years Prison Term
Smartphonephotography: Riverside Seafood Restaurant View in Bagan Datoh, Malaysia
STREEMIAN: Scheduled Posts and My Take on It

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny


About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Thank you xx

A really colourful, quality piece of artwork! I love the patterns on your eggs :)

Thank you so much! I enjoyed making it xx

Awesome step by step instruction and lovely painting. You doing it very well.

Thank you! I'm glad you like it =)

I love how amazing and innocent that post is. It is a thing to look at to cheer up. Good job.

Cheers,
Ras.

Thank you for your feedback, it is encouraging! I am glad you like it. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58711.36
ETH 2729.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28