[CR] Mermaid in green tones

in #artisteem6 years ago

Artwork ImageHello, I want to share with you the last illustration I made with vectors, I have some siren sketches and I am converting them into vector illustrations, a few days ago I published a similar one, but in this I used slightly different techniques, I will try to explain in a more detailed way the process to do the illustration.

gif - process:
anigif.gif

the first step was to digitize the sketch, in adobe illustrator, with the mouse using the brush tool, then contouring the paths, that is, I converted them into shapes, this is done with the object menu> stroke> outline path


After, I changed the colors according to the area of ​​the drawing, for example, the strokes of the face are light brown and those of the tail are dark blue.

The next step was to start adding color to the face, I did this by creating shapes with the pen tool, and filling them with the gradient tool between a light brown and green tone, in this case I used the gradient in radial mode.

For the rest of the body it was something similar, degraded in radial mode using the same tones, with the only difference that I modified the degrees of orientation according to the need

In the hair use a gradient between light green and dark green a little bluish, also modifying the degrees of orientation.
for the tail it was a mixture between shades of dark blue and green.

After having the basic colors of the drawing ready, I added some shapes with lighter shades to create lights and shapes with dark shades for the shadow areas

after finishing the character, add marine elements, but for these I did not make sketches, I made the shapes directly in vectors

I cloned one of the elements and adapted it to the left side of the illustration, modifying the color slightly so that it was slightly more blue.

I added some seashells that I had made since the last illustration, but I modified the size and color of the edge and the filling so that they combined better with this illustration, I also drew a pair of dark algae.

I leave you a reference image with all the marine elements separately:

When I had the composition ready, I placed a background with linear gradient between electric blue, dark blue and light blue.


To improve the relationship between the character, the marine elements and the background, I added a top layer with radial gradient effect, from dark blue on the edges to light green in the center, with an opacity of 70% and in the mode of fusion "strong light", this effect gives a darker and blue touch to the drawing, creating a marine environment.


Finally, and very importantly, add a top layer with a linear gradient, from deep green to a more bluish green at the bottom, in "clear" blending mode with 20% opacity.


the layers in clear mode are an excellent tool to add lighting with a specific tone, besides softening the union between light and dark tones, in this case it gives a more illuminated and greenish touch to the illustration neutralizing the darker parts.

!I hope you liked the illustration and the explanation¡
Thanks for the support! <3
Follow me on my blog @genyway.

Sort:  

The Artisteem Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community.
We encourage you to use Artisteem again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.


ARTISTEEM Curator.png

Very cute picture, @genyway :) The colours are very lovely~

Thank you <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @genyway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you c:

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Geny from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow, sin palabras, de verdad me encanta todas tus publicaciones, te mando un fuerte abrazo!

muchas gracias, me alegra que te hayan gustado <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66