My Entry for ART EXPLOSION WEEK 39: Themed "WHIMSICAL"

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

To Infinity and Beyond!!! Good Evening steemians!!

I would would like share my entry, specially made for ARTEXPLOTION WEEK 39 CHALLEGE, themed "WHIMSICAL", my Art work is entitled "The Adventure of Pugs Lightyear and Captain Snail ", thank you @artexplotion @juliakponsford for this opportunity to express my self through art, also for this amazing and playful topic that almost got me crazy. Also for the sponsor of the event @vachemorte thank you good Sir for giving us chance to earn while doing our passion through art. Please please guys support them so that they can support us all.

This is my first ever art contest here on steemit, and I'm so happy being a contestant, though it's not easy to think of something funny and playful.

IMG_0243.JPG

My Space Pug and his buddy Captain Snail.

You may think that the theme is very easy but the truth is, you need loads of humor to visualize what's funny and what's not, you need to let your Imagination fly, and a little talking to your self maybe helpful , trust me you need to unleash your crazy side to transform this pain in the head word "WHIMSICAL" into a master piece. I enjoyed the idea of being in a competition aside from the thrill, meeting new friends, discovering new genre of art and I can also improve my painting skills as an artist on the making.

Now, Imagine a Pug floating in the vast space with a snail as navigator and doesn't seemed bother even though the two of them were floating like forever , alone in the darkness of the cosmos , sounds funny? no? how about with an *inflatable yellow duck? SHHHHAAAZZZAAAAAAMMMMMM!!! , now if that isn't funny? I don't know what is.

IMG_0245.JPG

IMG_0251.JPG

Hello, It's me holding my Artwork.

I choose a medium where I am familiar with, using canvas cloth for the base and pastel crayon for rendering, I'm comfortable on smudging crayons, coz they're easy to mix and very workable for me.

Here are the Materials needed for the project:

📌Canvas Fabric (12" x 16")
📌Set of Color Pastel
📌Pencil
📌Eraser

Here are the steps on how I achieve this painting like render:

Step I: Sketch your Idea on a light line in able for you to easily erase the your draft lines.
Step II: Now, Start Sketching your drawing with a little touch of harder lines, this will serve as your guide in coloring your drawing, make sure that you're lines are visible to you.

IMG_0201.JPG

Sketching the space pug, nothing much to see here.

Step III: After you finished your drawing composition, settle your base color on your artwork before coloring other stuff, this will help as your guide color, now place the other color in position.

IMG_0210.JPG

Applying my first color.

Step IV: After you set all the colors in position, smudge all the color depending on your desired outcome, after smudging apply more color on top and smudge again, this will help you achieve a more realistic render.

IMG_0211.JPG

Smudging the head my space pug.

IMG_0212.JPG

Smudging while adding colors, you can try different color combination and you'll be surprise with the result.

Step V: When coloring your work try to set your light first, on this work I placed the light on the upper left corner of my drawing, that means on the lower right of the drawing i'll put some shading, coz it's the opposite of the light where shadows are formed. Repeat this process over and over.

IMG_0213.JPG

you'll have something that look's like this.

Step VI: For the GALAXY effect, first I used the color blue,violet,pink and red, I lay them first before putting the black on top, this is because black is a very strong color that if you lay it first, It will dominate the whole drawing.

IMG_0214.JPG

Stroke some lines for the shiny stars and dots for the regular stars.

Step VII: Repeat all the procedures to finish your rendering, add some stuff that you think can help your composition looks good or more appealing. Keep in mind that there is no perfect painting, others just accidentally adds features and stick with it if satisfied.

IMG_0247.JPG

I hope I was able to contribute even just a bit to this community specially to @artexplotion .
Special thanks to @ianceaz for introducing me to the art community and to this contest, thank you so much my Art Guru. Also to non other than @surpassinggoogle and @slothicorn for encouraging me to post some more by giving me upvotes, @bayanihan for the never ending support to the filipino community speciallyto filipino artist and finally to non other than @kyanzieuno for introducing me steemit, thanks for enlightening me about steemit, and to all artist out there just keep Rock'n.

CC-BY_icon.svg_.png
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons @creativecommons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Love Ya'll

Christian

Sort:  

Congratulations @criz1404! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @criz1404! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @criz1404! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @criz1404! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71