🃛 Vegeta "Jack of Clubs" - Digital Painting & Process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

vegeta_.png

“Push through the Pain. Giving Up Hurts More.”


After perenially being in the shadow of Son-Goku, Vegeta, the proud prince of the Saiyans eventually accepted the role of "second best" and settled on Earth. It was the legend of the Dragon Balls that drew him, and it were the Dragon Balls that forever altered his fate, in life and in death. Following a transition first from villian, then anti-hero and finally reluctant hero I found him to be a good fit for the Suit of Clubs. One of the most recognizable characters in Manga history, Vegeta while sometimes cruel and unforgiving in his fighting style eventually found a cause worth committing to. Even discovering something resembling a sense of humor along the way. One of my all time favorites, this tortured Saiyan is the perfect embodiment of "never giving up"!


  • This is a digital collage of about 25 bitmap layers. Using my mouse and standard Photoshop brushes and layer blend modes. The cards and textures I got from FusRoDa and edited them to suit our needs.. I also tried to preserve as many of the steps as possible for the process animation. I then made the animation in Premiere Pro CC, simplified it, sped it up, added inserts, rendered it as an mp4 video file and then converted it to an animated gif online (nifty!) with 25 fps :)


Category#FanArt
MediumPhotoshop
SuitClubs
CharacterVegeta
UniverseDragon Ball
StyleDigital Illustration
Original Artists Akira Toriyama
First Apperance1988


giphy (4).gif

  • Gif Source

    ...Don’t remind me. I’m mad enough to hurt somebody and pounding you just might be the therapy I need.

Lore


From a young age, Vegeta (ベジータ Bejīta) showed tremendous power even by the standards of First-Class warriors and the royal bloodline of the Saiyan race, able to effortlessly defeat eight Saibamen simultaneously and noted to have even surpassed his father, King Vegeta, putting his power level over 10,000. By the time he first arrived on Earth as an adult, his power reached about 18,000, putting him well above Nappa, who proudly declared he was the second strongest Saiyan ever. Once fighting against Goku, it took Goku tripling his power with the Kaioken to overpower the prince. Even when battle-worn from Goku's various energy attacks, Vegeta showed remarkable resilience, able to continue fighting against the Earth's defenders and even hold his own against the Great Ape Gohan.

Regal, egotistical, and full of pride, Vegeta was once a ruthless, cold-blooded warrior and outright killer, but later abandons his role in the Galactic Frieza Army, instead opting to remain and live on Earth, fighting alongside the universe's most powerful warrior, specifically with the mission to defeat and surpass Goku in power. His character evolves from villain, to anti-hero, to a hero through the course of the series.



Process

Here's the animated process for Vegeta that I made out of the individual layers. This is a digital Illustration with some collage elements so I borrowed freely from established imagery for this one like the the Shenron dragon and the stencils at the end. The suit of clubs is going to follow an ink/water theme and should portray antiheroes. I'm also trying to make a unique transition at the end of each card. Hope you dig it.

vegeta_animated.gif



Card number 12 is complete and I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Dragon Ball is one of my all time favorites! I heartily suggest you guys check out what cards of their own the awesome artists of Steemit came up with for the Club of Antiheroes contest!

back to the drawing board,

ZeroOoC

1111.png


If you're feeling generous you can visit my Tip Jar

Or draw another card:

Sort:  

I love this one :D Vegeta's an old favourite and I love how you present him as Jack of Clubs <3 the animated gif is AMAZING! love how you use blue first cuz it pays homage to his blue saiyan uniform that he was introduced with :D :D :D

GORGEOUS CARD~

upvotes and resteems

Ohhh thank you @veryspider!
That's what I was thinking with the blue and the old uniform! Your mind seems to work in similar strange ways as mine. The Jack is never a sure bet but it can win you the game if you are lucky, just like Vegeta ^^

Over 9000!

Kakarot!

Love it! :D I would love to have a deck of these when you are done.

I'll get you Kakarot!!
Will see what we can do about the full deck ;)
At the very least there will be some limited prints in the nearish future :D
Thanks!

can't wait to see your whole collection of deck from Ace to King cards.. hihi

And shen long is at his back :D!

The devil is in the details ;)

You could print all the cards you've made and make a personal deck for you to play with your friends, the original card game from Zero :D

firma 6.jpg

It is actually the end of the tunnel and not a train right? ;D

You do really well with a mouse, I did use to do art with a mouse a hundred million years ago and these days I wonder how I ever coped, I only barely use a mouse just to scroll as I can't use my trackpad for this computer (slight oversight as I decided when I was spec'ing the rig that I didn't need wifi or bluetooth, oops). Love the colour splashes and splashes were used really well in the transitions for the animated gif process too :)

goatsig

It's probably a train! Good for you is that I'm rather stubborn so I'll probably just face it down regardless :D

There is no substitute for a high quality mouse (gaming spec) in terms of control and accuracy. Using a Touchpad is like voluntarily using an artificial limb :P
Drawing pads/tablets are fine too but it's a very different feel!
Thanks Ryyyyyyyyy

Ahh you'll be fine, just duck under if it's high enough or get on the side and wait til it goes past XD

So I keep getting told but it doesn't stop me hating them XD

goatsig

Looking good @zeroooc. I have followed you. Trying to build relastionships with fellow artists here on Steemit. Its always a thrill to see all the styles and creative minds out there...

Thanks dude!
You should come join us at @steemartists :)

I just have just followed! Thank you!! I will share what I post here too. I don't get too much response on my own blog!

Tell me. How do I get a post onto @steemartists? I see most are resteemed. How does that happen. Do you have to resteem it? Please let me know. Thanks a stack!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 5.75% vote... I was summoned by @zeroooc! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received a 4.88% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @zeroooc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13