🂭 Batgirl "Queen of Spades" - Digital Painting & Process

in #digitalart7 years ago (edited)

cards__0003_batgirl.png

Worry about a girl, eh? Hah! If they think they can cut me off from where the action is, they're mistaken! I restyled this motor bike for just such an emergency!


Barbara "Babs" Gordon stumbled into a life of vigilante crime fighting after her relation to Gotham City's police commissioner Gordon brought her within the vicinity of the Batman and Dick Grayson. When Commissioner Gordon is framed by the notorious Two-Face, Barbara dons a bat costume and finds that the uniform fits her better than she thought. As an expert hacker, martial artist and scientist, Babs was well equipped to take on some of the more fearsome criminal elements of Gotham solo and in team efforts with the dark knight. A "no-nonsense" and pragmatic heroine that favours efficiency over drama.


  • This is a digital illustration of about 32 bitmap layers. Using my mouse and standard Photoshop brushes and layer blend modes. The cards and textures I got from google and edited them to suit our needs. I also tried to preserve as many of the steps as possible for the process animation. I then made the animation in Premiere Pro CC, simplified it, sped it up, added inserts, rendered it as an mp4 video file and then converted it to an animated gif online (nifty!)



Category#FanArt
MediumPhotoshop
SuitSpades
CharacterBatgirl
StyleDigital Illustration
Original ArtistsGardner Fox & Carmine Infantino
First Apperance1967


Lore


As Batgirl, Barbara Gordon has been described as one of the most popular characters to appear during the Silver Age of Comic Books and is also regarded as a pop culture icon due to her appearances in the Batman television series of the late 1960s and continued media exposure. The Barbara Gordon version of Batgirl has been adapted into various media relating to the Batman franchise, including merchandise, television, and animation. During the early 1970s, the character was also used as an advocate for women's rights.

Her double life as Batgirl sometimes puts Barbara at an emotional crossroads. As the daughter of the Police Commissioner, Barbara was raised with respect for law and order, but her actions as Batgirl technically label her a vigilante. If Batgirl were ever caught and unmasked, the scandal would certainly destroy Commissioner Gordon's career. Still, Gotham is a city that breeds an extreme kind of criminal and extreme crimefighters are needed to handle situations regular cops can't. Barbara believes the good she does as Batgirl is worth the potential risk to herself and her father. She often takes on some of Batman's dangerous villains including Harley Quinn, Catwoman, and Poison Ivy.



Process

Here's the animated process for Batgirl that I made out of the individual layers. Since I didn't have my original sketches anymore I reverse engineered the beginning stages of the drawing. I'm also trying to make a unique transition at the end of each card. Hope you dig it.


animated_batgirl_process.gif




This project has taken on a life of its own. This is the first card in the suit of spades. I'd also like to point you guys towards the drawing contest that I'm currently hosting where you can actually try the same exercise and create some cards of your own!

Check it out here:

✏ Sketch Off Contest - Edition 2: The Club of Antiheroes

back to the drawing board,

ZeroOoC

feline_bade.png

Draw some more cards:

Sort:  

Nice! Oh this is making me want to find the best Q for my set. I have everyone except a Q! Oh my...

:)
Maybe you can make the "Queen of Clubs"?

Yeah, I meant the Queen of Clubs. :D

I want to make the whole set. Whew!

Your art is so great and fantastic! Love it!

I thank you :)

@zeroooc You are so good! upvotes!!!
How did you make the process video/part???

I am a graphic design student. If you have time please come check out my introduction post (since that's the only thing I have so far haha)
It would be real nice if you follow me and give me advice once in a while to the future design posts I'm going to post.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@soria.lee/introduction-soria-lee

Soria

Cheers soria I appreciate your direct approach.

I'll add a process explanation in a future post. I make the animation in Adobe Premiere and then turn them into a Gif!

Ohhhh I reall look forward to this process post!! Thank you :)

A process of a process so you can process while you process.

very cool and artistic! upvotes!

yay spidey! I thank you :)

The Queen of Spades is such a fitting correspondence for Barbara in just about all of her incarnations!
Very cool piece and thank you for sharing your process! I live for process gifs tbh!

She's a bonafide badass and so are you! Thanks for the kind words. Many more process gifs coming up in this series so stay tuned ;)

Seriously, I’m inspired. I want to make a Batgirl tarot card - the Queen of Swords.
But it’d probably be Barbara as the commissioner in Batman Beyond.
Commissioner Gordon was always peak Spades/Swords to me - she cuts through the bullshit.

Yeah she is super direct I like that. Tarot cards would be interesting. I'm gonna see if I can finish the regular suits first and see where we can take it. In the meantime I'm hoping people will come up with some awesome "clubs"!

one of my fav designs so far

This post has received gratitude of 0.81 % from @appreciator thanks to: @zeroooc.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.97% vote... I was summoned by @zeroooc! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60180.20
ETH 2604.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54