🃍 Beatrix Kiddo "Queen of Diamonds" - Digital Painting & Process

in #art7 years ago (edited)


beatrix_queen.png

"I am gonna ask you questions. And every time you don't give me answers, I'm gonna cut something off. And I promise you, they will be things you will miss."


Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. When Bill shot Beatrix Kiddo at her own wedding he did not make sure that she was indeed dead. Eventually waking from a lengthy coma, Kiddo would go on one of the most violent, righteous and stylish revenge killing sprees in movie history. Kill Bill as such is a gorgeously crafted homage to Spaghetti Westerns and Kung-Fu movies with a special eye for composition and design. A master of the ancient japanese Katana blade, Beatrix (who went by the code name Black Mamba in her assassin days) is emancipated badassery in its purest form.


  • This is a digital collage of about 28 bitmap layers. Using my mouse and standard Photoshop brushes and layer blend modes. The cards and textures I got from FusRoDa and edited them to suit our needs along with the movie poster and yellow jump suit. I also tried to preserve as many of the steps as possible for the process animation. I then made the animation in Premiere Pro CC, simplified it, sped it up, added inserts, rendered it as an mp4 video file and then converted it to an animated gif online (nifty!) with 25 fps :)



Category#FanArt
MediumPhotoshop
SuitSpades
CharacterBeatrix "The Bride" Kiddo
UniverseTarantinoverse
StyleDigital Illustration
Original ArtistsQuentin Tarantino
First Apperance2003



giphy.gif

  • Gif Source

    Looked dead, didn't I? Well, I wasn't. But it wasn't from lack of trying, I can tell you that. Actually Bill's last bullet put me in a coma--a coma I was to lie in for four years. When I woke up, I went on what the movie advertisements refer to as...'A roaring rampage of revenge.' I roared and I rampaged, and I got bloody satisfaction. I've killed a hell of a lot of people to get to this point, but I have only one more. The last one. The one I'm driving to right now. The only one left. And when I arrive at my destination, I am gonna kill Bill.


Lore


Beatrix Kiddo was once a member of the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad, a group of highly trained assassins each working under a snake themed aliases. In the Squad Kiddo went by the name Black Mamba and worked for her employer/lover Bill, code named Snake Charmer. Each member of the squad had one area they excelled at over the others, Black Mamba's was blade master, specifically katana's as a favored weapon. Kiddo was specially trained in martial-arts by a master monk named Pai Mei and was one of only three of the six assassins who would ever receive such prestige training, along with Bill she was also the only one to complete said training. On a routine assassination assignment in China, Beatrix discovered she was pregnant and defaulted on her contract, thanks to her target's own counter assassin, who allowed her to back-out once both realized Black Mamba's baby would drive her into retirement.

Armed with the only type of blade she considered worthy of killing Bill and his Squad Beatrix began the main crux of her quest to wipe-out each member of the Deadly Vipers Assassination Squad, Cottonmouth - the sword-master and crime-boss, Copperhead - the knife master, Sidewinder- the gun master and tactician, Californian Mountain Snake- the trap/poison master and Snake Charmer- the Squad's leader and mastermind. The Bride took on each of her targets one by one saving Bill for the last.


Process


Here's the animated process for Kiddo that I made out of the individual layers. This is a digital Illustration with some collage elements so I borrowed freely from established imagery for this one like the Kill Bill movie poster and Bruce Lee's yellow jump suit. As you have noticed by now the suit of diamonds follows a flame theme! I'm also trying to make a unique transition at the end of each card. Hope you dig it.

beatrix_animated.gif



We've got 10 face cards already! The Queen of Diamond is my homage to Uma Thurman and her awesome portrayal as Kiddo. Seriously, it's such a cool movie :)

sharpen your blades,

ZeroOoC

1111.png


If you're feeling generous you can visit my Tip Jar

Or draw another card:

Sort:  

You're building up the set now, each one of equal quality. That's a deck of cards that would be worth owning. Just love the artwork you have created, and the medium you are using to share it.

It certainly has taken on a life of its own! I actually got an offer to have them printed so we may get our wish. I am excited that people (like you) like it so much! Steemit has been a bit of a wild ride, but I am happy to make art again, and I'm happy to make it exclusively for steem :)

I'd buy a packet of them. They be some of the coolest cards around.

Nice! :D On the same subject, last week I saw this video, an accident in the shooting of Kill Bill, interesting

firma 6.jpg

I've been curious, but I haven't done the research. Watching the movie, that close up on Uma clearly looks like a green-screened or back-dropped background. Looked like it was an intentional throw-back to classic films. Does this accident suggest that Tarantino never intended to do that? But was forced to after the accident? Or are these totally different shots?

I believe those are totally different shots. It's a mix of nostalgic techniques and actual stunts.

Oh I saw this! Controversial stuff but I'm glad they talked it out ^^
Thanks mate :)

Very cool process!

Thanks to @sanmi, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I'm happy to keep creating if you guys get a kick out of it. Thanks! <3

Oh, what a cool project! Thanks for sharing the process. :)

Thank you @uniwhisp!
I'd like to complete all 16 face cards within the next 7 days ^^

Awesome! Good luck with the project. :)

Awesome artwork man. I'm following.

Thank you sir :)

This is awesome! I love how neat the process looks. I'll be sure to check out the rest of the cards ^^

Thanks a bunch!
Of course I embellish the animation a little bit but it's more or less in chronological order! ^^

Great stuff, keep up the good work. Upvoted

I appreciate it! Thanks <3

This post has received a 41.10 % upvote from @fredrikaa thanks to: @zeroooc.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 3.06% vote... I was summoned by @zeroooc! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received a 3.12% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @zeroooc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30