🂢 Goomba - Foil - "Two of Spades" - Digital Collage and Animation

in #art7 years ago (edited)

foil_2goomba.png

It says right here: 'Goombas are underlings of underlings.' ...That is totally rude!

A rare card perhaps but this foe was not rare at all during the golden age of video games starting with the Nintendo Entertainment System and the perennial Super Mario Brothers. Goomba was the first opponent you would face as a new player and it stands to reason that perhaps no other creature has been hit on the head as many times as the ever faithful Goomba. Lumbering ever to the left of the screen to do Bowsers bidding. We got an NES in the early 90s and I remember playing it with my brother. Since Mario Brothers was the first game we had it's safe to assume that Goomba was also the first virtual enemy I defeated (and that defeated me). As such Goomba marches on and is a staple of every Mario game across the generations. A true legend!

  • This is a digital collage of about 26 bitmap layers. Using my mouse and standard Photoshop brushes and layer blend modes. The cards and textures I got from FusRoDa and edited them to suit our needs.The sprite I pulled from the internet too. Perhaps I could do some Koopa Troopa pixel art next time? I also tried to preserve as many of the steps as possible for the process animation. I then made the animation in Premiere Pro CC, simplified it, sped it up, added inserts, rendered it as an mp4 video file and then converted it to an animated gif online (nifty!)


Category#FanArt
MediumPhotoshop
SuitSpades
CharacterLeonardo
UniverseSuper Mario
StyleDigital Collage
Original ArtistsShigeru Miyamoto & Takashi Tezuka
First Apperance1985


giphy (1).gif

A Goomba bravely vanquishes an obnoxious plumber in his original NES form.

Lore


In the first 10 seconds of play, level 1-1 teaches you the fundamentals of playing a "Super Mario" game: question mark blocks are full of potential, mushrooms make you grow bigger, and there are evil, walking mushrooms who can hurt little Mario. Those "evil" mushrooms are known as "Goomba" or "Kuribo" in japenese.

Initial designs for level 1-1 actually had a Koopa Trooper there in place of a Goomba, but Miyamoto and co-designer Takashi Tezuka decided that an easier enemy made more sense for the educational focus of that first level in "Super Mario Bros.

Originally, we had a Koopa Troopa that came out, but we thought it might be a little too difficult for the player to jump on and then kick it. That's why we created the Goomba. If it was a turtle, we couldn't really just jump on it and defeat it. So we decided we needed a "bad mushroom.



Process

Here's the animated process for Goomba that I made out of the individual layers. This is a digital collage so I went a little nuts on the pixelisation and video game elements. I'm also trying to make a unique transition at the end of each card. Hope you dig it.


goomba_animated.gif



Lucky number seven is a slighty more humourous take on the card series. Figured I'd give this "unsung hero" some love. It's also the first card I made that's not a face card, how about that. My #AntiHeroes art contest is still going on for a bit and you awesome artists have already come up with some epic entries for the suit of spades. Still some time to enter though if you haven't yet ;)

Check it out here:

✏ Sketch Off Contest - Edition 2: The Club of Antiheroes

back to the castle,

ZeroOoC

feline_bade.png

If you're feeling generous -> My Tip Jar

or you can draw another card:


Sort:  

I wish I could make all the fun staff on computer like you do. Unfortunately I have no idea how to animate even with Photoshop on my computer :)I never played Super Mario ether :)

I feel you about not having an idea how to animate stuff on the computer :)
But you never played Super Mario?!?!?!?!

the color effect makes it look like one of those special edition cards that are worth thousands of dollars!

hihi that was my intention! It's a foil card like back in Magic the Gathering ^^

oh yea yeah that's what I meant, a foil card haha! You got it right!

Nostalgic is all I have to say. This brings back a lot of memories from my childhood of playing Mario with my little sister.

It was the dawn of a golden age for us :)
Thanks for stopping by

Until Pepsiman arrived if you know what I mean?

I.....do not get the reference xD

Sweet! I'm amazed with your animations! And curious how you did them. I dig it alright, and I appreciate the transitions at the end, @zeroooc! Pro!

Thank you mighty @shinyforest! I'm actually working on a little tutorial of the video/animation process for the cards because a couple of people have asked now. Stay tuned!

I will :) c u!

LOL so I wasn't the only one curious

This is brilliant, well done! I'm a big fan of digital art, do you publish on any digital platforms?

I'm happy you like it!
Other digital platforms?
I have a twitch and youtube channel and have posted some articles on a website or two if that's what you mean?

Oh, I was wondering if you sell your creations as digital collectibles?

I am currently working on a new webshop and online presence! Thank you for your interest, it honors me.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (OoC)zero from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.23% vote... I was summoned by @zeroooc! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54