How to Paint an Apple | Step by Step Tutorial | Soft Pastels Artwork

in #art5 years ago

P_20190524_162048_HDR g - Copy.jpg

Hello dear Steemians! Today, I will share a tutorial on how to paint an apple using soft pastels as the medium. This is my first time using soft pastels and it turned out better than I expected. I learned this painting from a video tutorial by Sennelier Colours. Click here to have a look at it. By the way, Sennelier is a famous manufacturer of art supplies and it has been around for a century now.

Tools and Materials

  • A mechanical pencil with 2B lead to draw
  • A good quality artblock that is durable
  • Mungyo soft pastels
  • Tissue to clean your fingers after smudging

Step by Step Tutorial

P_20190523_013200_HDR.jpg

This is my drawing of an apple and my set of soft pastels. I used a thick, sturdy paper with heavy pulp to paint. I have tested the colours on different papers. I found that a normal artblock or even a sturdy one isn't suitable for soft pastels. It is best to use sanded paper as it will be able to hold the paint well. Otherwise, the paint which has a dusty texture as soft pastels are soft, will start falling off like dust from the paper the moment you lift it.

P_20190523_014514_HDR.jpg

I began my painting by colouring the whole apple in yellow.

P_20190523_014904_HDR.jpg

Then, I painted some brown and pale yellow in the background.

P_20190523_015340_HDR.jpg

I also painted the table in blue and the leaf in green.

P_20190523_015922_HDR.jpg

Then, I smudged each colour with my fingers. I cleaned my fingers with a tissue before moving on to next colour. Smudging is the best way to apply the colours to the paper. You can also use a brush made for pastel blending if you like.

P_20190523_020743_HDR.jpg

After that, I added some red over the yellow on the apple and smudged it with my finger.

P_20190523_021339_HDR.jpg

I added some shadows using dark green on the apple and on the ground and smudged them. Dark green is the complementary colour for red which means they are the opposites on the colour wheel. Mixing them both creates a neutral colour best suited for shadows. I wanted the light to be from the left, so the shadows fall on the right.

P_20190523_023129_HDR.jpg

Then, I added some details on the leaf and shaded it with dark green, light green and some yellow. I also added another layer of colours to the background to make it more intense. I added a small amount of black to the shadows of the apple and the top areas of the table as well.

P_20190523_025720_HDR g.jpg

I added more colours in the background. I also used some white to add some highlights on the apple. I added more brown and a small amount of black to intensify some parts of the shadows. I added a tiny amount of red as well while adjusting the shadows.

2.jpg

This is a screenshot of my video where I was adding some yellow to the background.

1.jpg

This is after I finished my artwork.

P_20190524_162100_HDR.jpg

This is a closer shot that I took the next day. I painted at night, so I thought the pictures were looking a little dull although I snapped them with flash. Hence, I captured more pictures on the next day in natural light of the sun. They came out warmer like how the artwork appeared on the videos, as you can see on the screenshots. I also placed it on a white art block so that it will not look dull due to my vibrantly coloured pink table.

P_20190524_162048_HDR g.jpg

This is a another picture. I used the same picture for the thumbnail, except that the thumbnail image is cropped. I hope that you find this post helpful and enjoyed reading it. Have a great day ahead =)

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20190115041607.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

Friday Skyblue ColorChallenge


Fragrant Plantain Lily - ColorChallenge Thursday Green


Hundreds of Seafood Snacks and Condiments


Aztec Marigold Flower - ColorChallenge Tuesday Orange with a Poem


My Attempt of Painting Pulau Pangkor (Pangkor Island) using Watercolour


My Favourite Exercise - MTF #23


Wesak Day Beautiful, Brightly Lit Full Moon


Another Fun Trip to Danish Bernam Bakery, Malaysia


Batik Watercolour Painting | Corak Batik


steem artists with tag.png

If you are an artist, do join the Steem Artists Discord Community if you haven't ☻

bitmoji-20190118051733.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

Nice effective work done @yashny . It is quite helpful and wish many more from you.

The force is with you! You got a 50.00% upvote from @steemyoda courtesy of @deven11!

Thank you so much @deven11 and @steemyoda! I'm happy you found it helpful =) I will certainly post more artworks :)

Posted using Partiko Android

What a fine post! I'm not much or a drawer / painter / visual artist, but with your step-by-step instructions, I might be able to achieve a result that, maybe, resembles yours. Which is a great result, I must say.

Keep making great posts. That way, you will benefit, and Steemit will benefit and grow.

I'm happy that my post has given you more confidence in your potential artworks! Thank you for the appreciation =)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello Friend is really awesome painting, you will be a great artist, and you will be a great artist

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for the comment and well wishes! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Very good and helpful tips. I have long forgotten my pastel chalk due to the fact I have fallen in love with ballpoint pen and also the pastel chalk stains in the hand while working with. I think I would prefer to use pastel pencil.

Thank you. Oh I see! It is indeed messy to use chalk/soft pastels as they stain our hands and sometimes clothes too. Cleaning hands frequently is essential too to avoid staining with other colours and can seem tedious. Pastel pencil is a lot less messy and I prefer that too. In spite of the messiness, I still love using the traditional pastels :D I checked your ballpoint pen artwork and it is incredible! So flawless. I have tried it before but I don't have enough practice to produce a quality artwork with it yet.

Well, since you love working with the traditional pastel, I think it's a matter of choice. Just go for what you enjoy and derive happiness.

Oh I think if you exercise more patience and practice, you would get better with pen. Pen is my favourite meduim and it's so painful that I lost access to my previous account @maxijgcomm where I posted most of my pen works.

Cheers!

Thanks for the motivation! Although I love pastels, I will definitely give pen another try.

Oh my, that is devastating! I know that you must have tried everything you can to regain access to your account but do you have any backups of the owner key?

Posted using Partiko Android

Not at all. My master password was what I had. Wrote it down on my diary. Each time I try logging in, it keeps telling me incorrect password. So I had to let go.

Then maybe someone hacked your account and changed the password. Have you tried this: https://steemit.com/recover_account_step_1 ? You might be able to recover your old acc back. They will send you a link to the email you used to verify the steemit account.
The top answer in this thread might be helpful too: https://musing.io/q/peachyladiva/p36wvarfx

Posted using Partiko Android

I dont think someone hacked it. It has been dormant ever since the last day my previous device crashed.

I will try the recovery method you just mentioned.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I see. Anyway it is still upsetting to lose an account after all the hardwork :( Hopefully you regain the access to it

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68051.59
ETH 2632.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67