How to Paint a Sunset by the Sea | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork

in #art5 years ago

Thumbnail.jpg

Hello dear Steemians! Today, I would like to share a tutorial on how to paint a Sunset by the Sea using oil pastels. This is a very beginner friendly tutorial. It will be great to try if you are just getting started with oil pastels.

Tools and Materials

  • Buncho oil pastels
  • A good quality artblock that is durable
  • A 2B pencil to draw

Step by Step Tutorial

P_20190415_004328_HDR.jpg

This is my basic drawing. I know that the tree looks funny :D But, I will be painting over it later on. This is just a guideline for me to speed up the process of painting.

P_20190415_005120_HDR.jpg

I don't think you can see this but I am posting it anyway. I began my artwork with a white oil pastel where I painted a small amount on the part where I wanted my sun to be. This is because I want it too look light in a small part of the middle area and not flattened with one colour.

P_20190415_005405_HDR.jpg

Then, I added some yellow to paint the sun. I left a tiny white area at the bottom.

P_20190415_005751_HDR.jpg

Then, I added a mustard yellow colour around it. I blended it with the yellow I coloured previously by painting both colours mildly on each other in the part where they transition. I will be adding colours that keep getting darker and change in the value gradually.

P_20190415_010057_HDR.jpg

I painted some orange around the previous colour.

P_20190415_010708_HDR.jpg

Then, I added some bright orangey red.

P_20190415_011655_HDR.jpg

The next colour I added was red. I blended all the colours well so that there won't be harsh looking lines anywhere.

P_20190415_012602_HDR.jpg

Then, I painted some dark pink as a transition colour before moving on to paint purple. Otherwise, the red and purple might end up standing out awkwardly like a ring on the sunset.

P_20190415_013442_HDR.jpg

Next, I painted some blue on the rest of the sky . I blended the colours well and painted with some pressure to avoid having too much of white gaps.

P_20190415_025615_HDR.jpg

After that, I painted the shadow of the sunset on the surface of water of the sea. I used all the colours that I used earlier. I made many horizontal lines to create a ripple effect on the water.

P_20190415_030756_HDR.jpg

Finally, I painted a coconut tree and a small land area using a black oil pastel. I added leaves and some details on the coconut tree including some coconuts on the tree. I did not paint the leaves exactly the same as my drawing earlier as I wanted to add more leaves.

P_20190415_031058_HDR.jpg

This is my completed painting. I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and I will feel happy if you find it helpful. Thank you for reading and have a great day/evening ahead!


If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx



bitmoji-20190219124908.png

Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

How to Paint a Lake and Countryside Scenery | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


Beautiful Rose in My Little Garden


How to Paint Calla Lilies | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastel Artwork


How to Paint a Wolf Howling in the Moonlight | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


How to Paint a Mountain Scenery | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


Layered Leaves Digital Painting | My First Digital Artwork from Scratch | GIMP


How to Paint Water Lily | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


steem artists with tag.png

If you are an artist, do join the Steem Artists Discord Community if you haven't ☻


bitmoji-20190118051733.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

Very nice sunset picture, @yashny! I really like how there seems to be a shimmering effect on the water surface <3 The colours are very bold and flamboyant, which suits the tropical theme very well :)

Thank you @veryspider ♥♥♥ I'm glad you like it!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you!

Congratulations @yashny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35