BLOCKTOWN [Layer 0008-13] : A Game for Collaborative Art and City Building

in #art6 years ago

171224-BLOCKTOWN_Master-Map-01.png


BLOCKTOWN is a community art project powered through your comments and engagement. It’s an experimental game of city-making, a digital Madurodam. With each post, a new layer of buildings will be added to the Town. Your photographs, quotes, stories and feedback are the raw materials that drive construction for each new layer.

171210_BLOCKTOWN-Diagrams-05.png

Layer 0008-13 of Blocktown


180106_BLOCKTOWN-Diagrams-01.png

BLDG 0008 - @miniature-tiger

BLDG 0009 - @herverisson

BLDG 0010 - @finleyexp

BLDG 0011 - @marty-art and @steevc

BLDG 0012 - @spiritualmax

171218_BLOCKTOWN-Diagrams-03.png

BLDG 0013 - @luvabi

How to Play


Each building and landscape element of BLOCKTOWN will be derived directly from your comments. Photographs, quotes and stories will inspire their own design logic and manifest themselves as 3D characters within the Town. Buildings will be added to the Town with every new post.

Commenting with an image or a story isn’t the only way to play! Your critique is important... Steemit commenters can contribute ideas for future growth, renovation, or even petition for a deconstruction. BLOCKTOWN will be treated as a living, breathing art-project within a digital canvas, always subject to change.

Here's a walkthrough of how your Comments become 3D buildings...

171223_BLOCKTOWN_Update-01.png

Map for the BLOCKTOWN Neighborhood


QR's are like maps within the cryptocurrency world. It seemed only fitting that the Master Plan for Steemit's BLOCKTOWN be derived from one. With each week - the QR outline will be populated with roadways, parks, buildings and skyscrapers. Here, the address from above will provide a link to Steemit.com.

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 1.25.00 AM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 1.14.29 AM.png

Build your own!


If you'd like to participate beyond image comments, download the Rhino template file I've prepared on Github and assemble a custom building of your own. Once you re-upload it, I'll add it in.

> Github 3D File Download. Click here! <

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 1.32.41 AM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 1.33.23 AM.png

An Experiment in Building Community


Through this project - I hope to engage in a broader dialogue with fellow Steemians about their own sense of place and placemaking. These types of game-structured conversations are a fascinating way of learning more about what a person defines as his or her “community.” It’s a way of connecting to one another through the geographies we are deeply tied to and knowledgeable of. In a world of links, likes, upvotes and IP addresses, it’s exciting to find ways of bridging the digital divide and connecting with those on the other side of the screen.


Let's get building!

- Take a look at the announcement post, here. -

171210_BLOCKTOWN-Diagrams-05.png

All content is CC BY • Creative Commons

follow-voronoi.gif

Sort:  

WHOOOAAA This is fun. I was about to make a building, but realized my Rhino free trial ran out 😭

Might still make something and send a screenshot since I can't save the actual file. Trying to think of something more creative to build than the Penn Nanotech Center.

Singh Center for Nanotechnology:

Did some rough CADing for it (screenshots only cause I can't save with the expired license). Let me know if I should add these to github instead or if you need more screenshots 😀

This is amazing @jshmu! What a great addition :D

I think using these screen shots I can recreate your design to add it! I'm sorry your trail ran out :(

how does this work, just comment? I'd like to do some 3D try out

OpenCAD
https://opencad.io

nope this was the one
https://www.onshape.com/

  • Web CAD everything will be public unless you try a premium plan

Wow - at first, I had concerns due to the lack of interactivity, but now, seeing you've provided downloads to the map and other related tools, it's more interesting.

Good luck!

Great points @katamori, I'll be making a broader set of downloads available soon too!

Awesome! finally its here. I have a problem though, i'm not familiar with Rhino. I hope there are other file format that can be accepted? If none, then I have to learn this software and be able to contribute.
By the way, last image (normal view) looks amazing, even though few pieces only. Really promising., I have to learn more about it.

Thanks very much @funtraveller, I'll see what I can make in terms of a more flexible download :)

Yes pls. :-) if possible lets make the range of files broader: .skp .3ds .rvt ? If it can be done this way then I think more contributors will get involve.

The last image is very impressive, even has shadows :-)

We need names for those Streets too! :) Chance of have the Rhino in Max? I try to export but don't let me. Is like an Autodesk Flag hahaa

That's a great idea! We do need street names haha. I'll work on a way to build those in :D

I think there's a file you can use in between... Max / Rhino. I'm not sure!

An Asian Pagoda now! :D

Haha, nice idea!

Great stuff! Nice to see architectural dialogue branching out, thinking about things such as QR codes in a spatial sense.

I'm having some fun experimenting with it... we'll see where it goes!

Whoa, the QR code map is bonkers creative. I'm blown away.

Yay! There's the bldg! Thanks for the mention, super enjoyed making it.
I think I need to make it bigger :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82