Bell Tower [BLDG 0011] : 3D Modeling Fictional Architecture

in #art7 years ago

180121_BLOCKTOWN-Diagrams-02.png

BLOCKTOWN is a community art project powered through your comments and engagement. It’s an experimental game of city-making, a digital Madurodam. With each post, a new layer of buildings will be added to the Town. Your photographs, quotes, stories and feedback are the raw materials that drive construction for each new layer.

A New Character!


Thank you to @marty-art and @steevc for suggesting a tower! This building in BLOCKTOWN was inspired by a couple of comments (left a ways back) about "every town needing a proper bell tower." @marty-art had included an image from San Marco Campanile, a distinguished tower in Venice Italy. But since the image wasn't entirely whole, I did a bit of architectural improvising. Venice is a city halfway below water, I thought it would be fun to model a Tower that looked both right side up and upside down.

Take a look at the design process (below) assembling and modeling the Tower structure, beginning with the 2D image submission and growing the 3D modeled character.

180121_BLOCKTOWN-Diagrams-01.png

How to Play


Take a look at the announcement post, here. Each building and landscape element of BLOCKTOWN will be derived directly from your comments. Photographs, quotes and stories will inspire their own design logic and manifest themselves as 3D characters within the Town.

If you'd like to participate beyond image comments, download the Rhino template file I've prepared on Github and assemble a custom building of your own. Once you re-upload it, I'll add it in.

> Github 3D File Download. Click here! <

180122_Tower-2.gif

Screen Shot 2018-01-22 at 12.55.37 AM.png

An Experiment in Building Community


Through this project - I hope to engage in a broader dialogue with fellow Steemians about their own sense of place and placemaking. These types of game-structured conversations are a fascinating way of learning more about what a person defines as his or her “community.” It’s a way of connecting to one another through the geographies we are deeply tied to and knowledgeable of. In a world of links, likes, upvotes and IP addresses, it’s exciting to find ways of bridging the digital divide and connecting with those on the other side of the screen.


Let's get building!

- Take a look at the announcement post, here. -

171210_BLOCKTOWN-Diagrams-05.png

All content is CC BY • Creative Commons

follow-voronoi.gif

Sort:  

This was fun! Here's my contribution to blocktown, a replica of my alma mater, Melchor Hall in the University of the Philippines.
It's my first time using Rhino 3D and learning it was enjoyable. My Block Town 3dm file is here:
https://github.com/luvabi/blocktown

20180124050940.gif

@luvabi, this is AMAZING! I'll add it in this week! :D

Hmm.... my art factory just lost its lease, we need to move the building. You think it could fit into blocktown? We'd love to bring some entertainment and culture to the town :-D

I'm not sure where that blood trail came from but I promise we won't be bringing any illicit activities into Blocktown, no way >_> what do you think?

Dude of course, we need an illicit art factory! What's a Town without some mysterious blood-trailed art venues ;)

Good stuff @voronoi!! I like the right side up / upside down feel. Are those last black and white graphics straight from Rhino or did you use illustrator?

Hey boss! I edited a bunch of settings under the "artistic" viewport and just recorded the screen in Rhino. Easy way to make a quick gif ;)

Ah I see, nice work!

I love the right side up and upside down quality of the tower. Even more, I love the fact that it looks like a rocket that will blast off to Mars when Elon Musk comes to visit Blocktown

Thanks Jodie! Elon is welcome anytime :D

I need to get modeling on the geodesic dome and barn!

great art
thank's for sharing

Every town needs a gladiator arena, right? Haha

I will try this amazing work!

Is it for also Linux?

That design remind me of monument valley. Were you inspired by it?

Gravity defying bell tower! It reminds me of a sandglass actually! Very fitting, to give time to your virtual city :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79