Fallen giant (original art)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

20171116_213206.jpg

I wrote a second poem last night. The first one was free form but this time I decided to experiment with a tanka. It's a Japanese form of poetry and is closely related to the haiku. You can read the poem here.

Like last time, I made a painting to go with it.

The poem was about a horse I loved very much and lost far too soon. I had closer up of an eye and decided to use that for a subject.

Most of my paintings tend to be careful and deliberate. I build up pigment light layers to get it just right without losing the delicacy I love so much. This time, I experimented with harsh brushstrokes and more saturated colours.

I began by applying a first layer to the eye itself.

20171116_204445.jpg

I then began adding layers to the eyelids.

20171116_205007.jpg

20171116_205449.jpg

I built up more and more saturation...

20171116_205743.jpg

And then it was time to add in the pupil. This part always scares me.

20171116_211803.jpg

It was too heavy so I ended up lifting some pigment off the paper and add more to the iris.

20171116_212830.jpg

I added darker pigment to the outer corner and faded everything a little bit, because that's what's happening in my mind as well. My memories of her begin to fade and go blurry just a bit.

20171116_213206.jpg

I wanted this image to reflect that.

For a first time trying out a bolder way to handle the brush, I really do like it it. Hope you guys do too!

Would you like to see more of my paintings? Check out my Poppy, Tulip, Violet and Butterfly Mask.

Hugs

Tiny


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by clicking the link below.




Sort:  

Nice piece, and great documentation. I think the first picture of the process is a worthy artpiece in itself.

Thank you. You must really like blue orbs then. ;-)

Beautiful! I'd love to see a full version of your horse someday- I bet she was just as pretty as your painting :)

Thank you so much! She really was that beautiful. Hugs

I really enjoy how you guide your readers through the process of drawing.
The eye caught my attention immediately as soon as I saw your post. And now I like this eye even more.
I'd love to see more of your paintings :)

Thank you so much! This means a lot to me. There are other painting posts, to help keep you satisfied until I have time to paint more. I linked to them at the bottom of the post. ;-)

Great to flare the process in how the painting developed

Thank you. I enjoy writing about it. It helps me think about what I could do differently next time.

Always learning and adjusting is good for us I try to do the same with my photography

This is great! There is kindness and wisdom in that eyes!

She was amazing and very gentle. It's been almost a year since she passed, but I can still hear the thundering of her hooves in the distance.

Congratulations @tinypaleokitchen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43