Butterfly Mask (original art)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I shared my very first poem with you guys, along with the painting I did to accompany it.

DQmesWYRvUTU7f9ZmtSkpwJ5RB84VXttdURKUVhDkqvmXwr_1680x8400.jpeg

I'm quite happy with how the butterfly turned out, actually. Which is new for me. I used to hate everything I painted and see only the flaws.

I have still not tired of my markers and water brush, but have added another "ordinary" tool to my repertoire. I can't wait to share the process with you so let's get started.

As usual, I sketched the lines in as lightly as I could, so I hope you can make it out. My camera had trouble focusing again.

20171113_201910.jpg

Next, I started filling in the dark edges of the butterfly. This took several layers to get the saturation intense enough. I started out on dry paper with the marker, faded that with the water brush and layered over with marker before the layer had a chance to dry.

20171113_203940.jpg

20171113_204929.jpg

I filled in the wings by starting in the darkest spot with dark blue and turquoise marker and faded it out with the water brush.

20171113_211210.jpg

Next I added a first layer of colour to the body.

20171113_212330.jpg

While that was drying I took a black ballpoint pen to add detail to the wings.

20171113_212528.jpg

I added more layers to the body to create more colour intensity.

20171113_213010.jpg

I added more detail with the ballpoint pen as a final touch.

DQmesWYRvUTU7f9ZmtSkpwJ5RB84VXttdURKUVhDkqvmXwr_1680x8400.jpeg

So here it is. My fourth painting. ;-) If you'd like to see more of my paintings, have a look at my Poppy, Tulip and Violet.
Hope you like it!

Hugs

Tiny


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by clicking the link below.




Sort:  

It is perfection. You should be very, very proud.

I’m seeing butterflies come to life 🧚🏼‍♀️

Don't you just love them?

Yes, love them to bits.
waiting for the day when Tiny accepts artwork request

So sososo pretty! I could never get watercolors to really 'work' for me, I had a hard time leaving the light places light enough. Acrylics became my go to because i could always slather on some titanium white! Folks who can make their watercolors sing (like you can!) just amaze me!

Oh Tangle! I love you! This means a lot to me. Hugs!

Nice one and thanks for sharing your (creative) process!
I love it when people do that :)
Groetjes!

This a very Rare Skill you got, you paint and write poems synchronously...Double Thumbs Up

Well, to be honest, I wrote the poem first, and then I made the painting to match.

Still super cool to be able to have both talent....i draw but not as skillful as yours

I'm surprised the ballpoint didn't run at all- or did you wait until everything was dry? Do you use a special watercolor paper? This is making me want to get back into art...

I did wait until everything was definitely dry before working in the ballpoint. The paper is watercolour paper but not with a very distinctive grain.

And thank you. Hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46