My teenage burnout, and a recent attempt to leave it behind

in #watercolour6 years ago (edited)

This is not exactly public knowledge. But it's not a secret either.

I studied art in high school. And I loved it at first. I have always been overly selfcritical however. In my senior year, it only took one teacher who failed to encourage me and support me as I needed him to. By the time I turned eighteen, I had a miniature burnout. I was not alone, by the way. Of my eight classmates, only one went on to pursue a career in the field we'd all originally chosen. She restores sculptures and guilding details on historical buildings for a living now.

I, along with the others, had had enough. I was about to drop out of high school, two months before graduation.

My English teacher, Mrs Deweerdt, rallied her troops and convinced me to keep going. I owe her a lot. She was determined to fight me tooth and nail on this and thankfully, she won.

I found another field of interest and went to college to become a medical imaging technician. I love my job and have never regretted the choice.

I was fed up with everything artistic and made my Mum get rid of everything I'd done in my time in art school. I strongly suspect her of salvaging a few things here and there, but most of it is gone.

Aquarel, or watercolour, was very much my strongest technique and I used to love it. But in the 15 years since high school graduation, I touched a brush twice, I think.

Until last week. A discussion in the general channel over at The Writer's Block ended up with me mentioning my training in arts and @myrockandocean asked me to paint her something.

I gently refused at first. But after two days, my hand began to itch for a paint brush. And so I painted her a flower. My favourite flower: a poppy.

I hated it at first. Its flaws stared back at me from the paper.

I have always been less forgiving of my own faults than I am of the flaws of others. I can't stand to look at my work and see a mistake.

But @myrockandocean loved it. My Mum, who was always my biggest fan, loved it too. Maybe they're right. Some others over at the Writer's Block have seen it. They didn't hate it either.

After all, I've always believed that art was never meant to be perfect. I only have a hard time believing it when is my own work starting back at me. Maybe I should start trying a little harder.

By sharing it with all of you, for starters.

20171106_155807.jpg

My watercolour palette was thrown out with my paintings, but this was done with watercolor markers. I diluted the ink with a wet brush.

I didn't document the stages in which I worked, but I'll try to remember next time.

So. I was nervous about this but it didn't hurt at all. Thank Goddess for that.


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community.

Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there.

Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by clicking the link below.

Hugs

Tiny




Sort:  

I know what I like, and I like this!

I love how to made this into so much more than just the painting. HUGS It is beautiful, like you.

Thank you. And when have you ever known me not to talk? 😉

Just came from your tulips and love this as well, Tiny. Beautiful!

Thank you honey!

When you are ready, (and I know you have been hearing this from everyone), I will be happy to see MORE :)

I think you should paint more. Don't you think so? I have an uncle that used to paint, but halfway in life abandoned it. He used to be an awesome painter too.

I'm trying. Posted one from last night just this morning. And thank you.

Alright, that is good to hear. Just called that my uncle and he said life happened that was why he left painting :)
But starting again is really a great way to sharpen those rusty skills. Good job. Gracias.

It is a lovely flower! And your narration is good, too! I do hope you will share more of your work with us, should you pick up those markers, or a brush, again! #teamgirlpowa

I did pick them up again.
I have made two more. ;-)

Don't let anyone take the art from you!

I took it from myself. That's the worst part.

That only means you still have it. As is evident by image above.

This is so pretty! I love everything about it. Maybe it's time to start getting back to the brush ;)

Don't worry, we forgive you even though you didn't document the stages of this beautiful poppy, because we know there'll be more #art works to come! 💖
Much love, Sylvia

Thank you sweetie.
Bizoux xxx

Oh it's beautiful, Tiny! I'm excited to see more of your paintings!

I haven't made any yet, Uni. Patience, darling. 😉

Oh I'm not rushing you! Just letting you know you have my vote of encouragement!

Thanks. If my Mum did manage to save one or two pieces I might be able to share that with you. 😉

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by twofingersshort from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Oh my. Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90