Psychedelic tulip (I think)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I told you all about my first painting in over ten years, didn't I?

I hated it right afterwards. But I felt better about it after a while. I'd forgotten how addictive it could be.

Like writing, it satisfies my need to create, but in a completely different way. I do think I'll pick up a brush again after this.

20171111_021922.jpg

Yesterday, as I was listening to @anarcho-andrei and at @swelker101's radio show, State of the witness, my hand drifted towards a brush again. I'm afraid I didn't participate all that much in the audience channel on discord, but they did provide me with the perfect background chatter. They occupied my mind and kept me from overthinking things as I am prone to do.
I did have to stop here and there when they had me laughing so hard I couldn't keep my hand from shaking.

I began by very lightly sketching out the basic shapes of the tulip.

It's not very clear but I sketched the lines as lightly as possible. I didn't want them to be visible when the painting was done. This means it was hard to get the camera to focus, though.

Next, i began to lightly create layers of paint.

I wanted to keep the colours of the petals from running together so I had to wait for each layer to dry before being able to continue on that one or on the petal immediately next to it. That's why I look for parts of the painting that do not touch at the edges. I can work on those while the ones I've already done are drying. It saves time and allows me to keep working.

I then got carried away and forgot to take more photos in between layers. Oops...

This is a photo of when it's almost done. The only petal I've yet to finish is the one at the top. You can see it still looks a bit flat.

And here is the finished painting.

20171111_021922.jpg

This was done with a set of 12 watercolour markers in primary colours. I used a wet brush to dilute and fade the ink.

Ms. Vaganée, the first art teacher I ever studied under, always used to say that no medium is too menial. She would dumpster dive for useful stuff while we were out on sketching trips to the park or in Mechelen, where I went to school.

She was the coolest old lady I ever met. Last year, she was in my waiting room in radiology and although I felt bad for her being ill, she still remembered me and we had a blast catching up and reminiscing about those dumpster dives.

In honour of the lessons she instilled in me (basically eradicating all preconceived notions of what art should or shouldn't be), I think I'll stick with these primary markers for now and see how far they will take me.

Hugs

Tiny


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by clicking the link below.




Sort:  

Absolutely GORGEOUS! I think you should add a picture of your markers. ;-) Seriously--even if I didn't know you from the Block and love you, I'd love this painting.

Very pretty!

Thank you so much.

I love that you are rekindling your passion, and appreciate the step by step.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Accept accept accept!!!

You are very much a natural artist. After not having touched a brush for years and then coming up with these two beauties as your first creations... wow.
I cannot wait to see where you go from here!

Thank you. This means a lot to me. Hug

Although honesty compells me to admit that watercolour is by far the most forgiving medium I've worked with. ;-)

Wow that looks real

Oh my gosh! Jon called me in to look at this and I love it! You are so gifted, Tiny. I'm so glad you got to re-connect with your art teacher and have decided to rekindle this talent.

Thank you Trishie! Hug

Thank you, Tiny. Back at you, sweetheart!

This is great Tiny! I love it. I'm so glad you have rediscovered your art. Can't wait to see what else you come up with!

Well, another song on Tuesday for sure!
Thank you though, Andrew.

I love this! You have a gift, for sure. Rather than trying to take pictures during the process, you could possibly try and set up video as you work. Then you could take stills from the video or make a gif- multiple birds with one stone! I don't know what your workstation looks like or if that's possible, but maybe? Love your posts about this either way.

My workstation is the living room table in a tiny cabin at the moment. But it's something to remember when more space becomes available. :-)

Beautiful painting. Glad you took the time to create and share it!

Thank you so much. There are more on the way. ;-)

You are very talented, Tiny :). That is one of the most realistic painted tulips I have seen (:

Thank you for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46