Art Explosion week 28 entry "Melancholy"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My entry for this contest, with the theme 'Melancholy'. My idea was to capture that feeling of wistful listlessness that can come over you on a long rainy day, waiting in a car.
I painted and retouched it in Photoshop, using some references of rain in the city, rainy streets, cars driving through water, car lights reflecting on wet streets, a portrait, some lightning, a person with an umbrella.

melancholy.jpg

Link to the contest: https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-28-theme-melancholy-25-steem-in-prizes-all-forms-of-art-welcome

Links to some of my other art:
SquichyThumb.jpg

TeaAndRosesThumb.jpg

Sort:  

I saw your post on the discord channel for qurator. I am qurite myself. This is a spectacular piece of art. I can imagine how time consuming this can be. I really like your use of light coming from the left in Tea And Roses. I commented here because that post is 14 days old and you are not going to get any more visibility from that one.
Bottomline; excellent work. I am a fan already.

Thank you! I admire the purpose of the Qurator, it seems a time-consuming and thankless task. :)
You have some very nice photography in your blog, and your chart analyses seem very knowledgeable.

What a beautiful montage. Awesome work, sir! 😊

Looks great, it certainly evokes a melancholic mood! I went to a photography talk last night and this encapsulates some of the tips given (I know it's a painting but in terms of capturing an image).

Thank you!
Madrid? I've never been, always wanted to... :)

Yes, Madrid. For sure, come on over!

Great image, that splash of warm color coming from the car's lights in the dark & moody environment does the trick for me!

Great Photoshop artist! Awesome work. Congrats!

you really have passion in art sir @stahlberg it shows in your pieces.

This really great. The reflection is captured so well. I can almost picture myself there. Great job! -@bozz

This is beautifully melancholic @stahlberg!

This is gorgeous, your attention to detail is amazing, rain always puts me in that downer mood, you captured it well!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64