qu'est-ce que le surrealisme?

in #art7 years ago

giphy (23).gif

A gif preview of some of the content in the Surrealist Erotica Series.

I didn't get around to writing up about my references for the Georges Bataille and Laure videos yet, but here's a list of my posts about the other videos and photos in the series:

Surrealist Erotica // The Doll: inspired by Hans Bellmer
Surrealist Erotica // The Mask: inspired by Man Ray
Surrealist Erotica: The Witch // inspired by Maya Deren
Electricity by SexDeathRebirth / Man Ray
Surrealist Erotica: Erotique Voilee
Heir, inspired by Kiki de Montparnasse and Man Ray
Surrealist Erotica: Dream of Venus, inspired by Salvador Dali
In Memory of Nusch Eluard
Meret Oppenheim inspired gloves
The Years Lie In Wait For You, inspired by Dora Maar
Andre Masson's Mannequin
Surrealist Erotica: Acephale // inspired by Andre Masson and Georges Bataille
Surrealist Erotica: Elsa Schiaparelli Part 1 (preview)
Surrealist Erotica: Meret Oppenheim part 1 (preview)
Recreation of hands painted by Picasso/photographed by Man Ray
Surrealist Erotica: Facile // inspired by Paul Eluard, Nusch Eluard, and Man Ray

The future of the project:

I have an Acephale segment in the Georges Bataille video, but I might revisit the headless character and make a video dedicated to the artist Andre Masson and add it to the Mannequin footage.

I plan on doing a little bit more with Meret Oppenheim by recreating some of her objects and her exhibition at the International Surrealist Exhibition.

I may end up revisiting Elsa Schiaparelli too.

I have some ideas for a Magritte video but I will take some time to acquire the necessary props. There are other artists and writers I'm considering, but its a matter of how clear I can make their major symbols come across.

I'm planning a few more Man Ray related works as well. He's the easiest for me to work with because his style his the most inspiring to me.


Surrealist Erotica // from Joan Pope on Vimeo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83