Surrealist Erotica: Acephale // inspired by Andre Masson and Georges Bataille

acephale.jpg
Acephale by Joan Pope

This photo is my interpretation of Andre Masson's illustration for a journal (and secret society) created by Georges Bataille called Acephale. This is the original drawing:

acephale1.jpg

Information about the inner workings of the secret society has died with its members. You can read the journals online in French and English-speakers can stayed tuned for the publication of The Sacred Conspiracy: The Internal Papers of the Secret Society of Acéphale and Lectures to the College of Sociology which will be out in January 2018 from Atlas Press.

giphy-downsized-large (2).gif

I included my Acephale footage in my video for the George Bataille installment of my Surrealist Erotica series. I may end doing a different edit of the Bataille video and use the Acephale footage for an Andre Masson video instead. Earlier this week I paid homage to Andre Masson in this post where I recreated his mannequin he displayed at the International Surrealism Exhibition in 1938.

My other posts about Surrealist-inspired art I've created:

Electricity by SexDeathRebirth / Man Ray
Surrealist Erotica: Erotique Voilee
Heir, inspired by Kiki de Montparnasse and Man Ray
Surrealist Erotica: Dream of Venus, inspired by Salvador Dali
In Memory of Nusch Eluard
Meret Oppenheim inspired gloves
The Years Lie In Wait For You, inspired by Dora Maar
Andre Masson's Mannequin

Surrealist Erotica // from Joan Pope on Vimeo.

Sort:  

I think it was funny

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58