Surreal Art Contest: Entries (Part 7)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

contest6.jpg

We're past the deadline of my Surreal Art Contest but I still have plenty of pieces to show you.

I'll be showcasing every piece of submitted artwork. Whether or not these pieces end up being winners, they all deserve some time in the spotlight. Depending on how many submissions come in, I may have to continue showcasing at least a day or two past the contest deadline. The winners won't be announced until all submitted works have been showcased.

Today I'll be commenting on seven wonderful submissions.

And here they are!


1

This incredible piece comes from @marinaart. The pen and ink drawing contains a lot of stipple work which almost makes it look like a print. The similarities between this piece and Da Vinci's Vitruvian Man are obvious, but she build around the figure with a lot of great shapes, elements and details that really bring the whole composition together.

Please head over to her original post to give it an upvote.


2

This digital artwork was created by @yoogyart using Oculus Medium and Postproduktion Flame Painter. It's an almost-nude figure with a box for a head with vibrant colours surrounding her in 3D space.

Take a look at the artist's original post here to give an upvote.


3

Here we have a man who's head had been broken open, like a door on a hinge. Black clouds erupt from his mind. I told the artist, @mightynoo that this picture reminds me of something I've seen before, but I can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe an album cover or another painting. If any of you have any idea, please say so in the comments.

Be sure to upvote the original post.


4

The World Is Opening Up For You is a surreal drawing by @slhomestead. This piece reminds me of a storybook illustration. All of the line work is so skillfully done. A little boy is reading a book and they pages fly into the air and take on the forms of animals.

Head over to the original post to give the artist a much-deserved upvote.


5

@simonsantiago is the artist behind Isla de Palmera. Rosary beads are wrapped around a giant hand reaching toward a group of turtles heading for the sea as the sun sets in the distance. I particularly like the long shadows case by the boat and other objects in the frame.

Here is the original post for you to view and upvote.


6

Atop a colourful background, @sukiyaki draws the body of a man with an elephant's head. The artist wanted to draw attention to the different types of power, strength and gentility displayed by both mankind and elephants by capturing them together as one being.

To learn more about the artist's process and to give an upvote, please check out the original post here.


7

The last piece of the day is, in the @girlbeforemirror's own words, "one epic bicscrawl." The piece is so much more than just a mess of scribbles, I won't even begin to describe all of the details. Look for yourself and see what you can see!

And please do so on the artist's original post so that you can give an upvote.


That's it for now. I'll be sharing more submission every day until I've gone through all of them. Stay tuned!

I'd like to say a big thanks to all those who have participated in the contest. Stay tuned for my announcement of the winners and be on the lookout for more art contests.

~Seth

Previous Entry Showcases

Sort:  

Thanks so much for a fun contest, @sethlinson! I am really enjoying the way that you are running it, both with how you required honest art from the participants (and checked to make sure there weren't cheaters), and also the way you are showcasing each entrant. There's a lot of time put into this, and it's appreciated!

It's more work than I expected because there were many more entrants than I expected! But I'm happy to do it, and I'll certainly do another contest soon.

Gracias por incluir mi entrada @sethlinson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66