Surreal Art Contest: Entries (Part 5)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

contest5.jpg

Now the artwork is really starting to roll in! I can't believe how many amazing submissions I've received.

We're 13 hours away from the deadline of my Surreal Art Contest. That means if you're interested in contributing for a chance to win from a pool of 20 SBD worth of prizes, you're almost out of time.

I'll be showcasing every piece of submitted artwork. Whether or not these pieces end up being winners, they all deserve some time in the spotlight. Depending on how many submissions come in, I may have to continue showcasing at least a day or two past the contest deadline. The winners won't be announced until all submitted works have been showcased.

And here they are!


1

This piece is clearly inspired by other works of art that a quick reverse Google search revealed to me, like this image here. There's sometimes a fine line between inspiration and pure copying. In fact, I've disqualified other entrants for this very reason. Though this piece was obviously based on something else, I'm going to allow it because the artist clearly put a lot of work into it's creation.

Take a look at the original post here.


2

The second piece comes from @jb-design. It's a drawing of a frog made surreal by it's location on a floating island of rock. Simple, yet effective.

See the artist's original post if you'd like to leave an upvote.


3

Next up is a painting by @macodi1. It depicts an alien, or some sort of lizard creature seated on the moon and blowing a storm into the Atlantic Ocean.

Stop by the original post to give the artist an upvote.


4

This next piece is by @emilygiovanna. It's an oil painting made on wood depicting two horses and their riders. It isn't the most surreal entry in this contest, but it enters a slightly off-kilter reality through its use of colour and perspective.

Check out the artist's original post here and be sure to upvote and comment.


5

This definitely reminds me of something I've seen before, but I can't quite put my finger on in... This artwork by @steemotion is composite of photographs, inspired by Rene Magritte's The Castle of the Pyrenees.

It's a very striking image, and I hope you'll head over to the original post to give it an upvote.


Bonus Art

This is the last of my daily surreal drawings. I meant to do 7, one for each day of the contest... but I only had time to complete 5.

The Stallion.jpg

The drawing is called The Stallion. It was inspired by some of the creatures seen in Salvador Dali's Temptation of St. Anthony. You can see its original post here.


That's it for now. I'll be sharing more submission every day until I've gone through all of them. Stay tuned!

I'd like to say a big thanks to all those who have participated so far. Remember, there's still time if you want to join and 20 SBD worth of prizes to be won! Enter the contest here.

~Seth

Previous Entry Showcases

Sort:  

My vote goes for the forth one from the top since the first one has been made by looking at the other post or inspired by other.

Originality will certainly be one of the factors I consider when I judge this contest. But this is only a small selection of the many entries. I believe there have been about 25-30 submissions so far. You can see them all in the comments of the original contest post here if you're interested.

do i still have a chance for entering to this contest? :(

Time is running out. There's about half a day until the deadline.

I hope there will be more contests like this. I'm out of my drawing gear for the time being but would gladly participate in the future :D

This contest has been going really well. I'll definitely do more in the future.

nice art. keep it on and go ahead

But you didn't like it enough to leave a vote. Did you look at the post before typing, or do you just leave worthless comments all over the place hoping to scrape together a few cents for your efforts?

Agree, the platform is still wild and there's a lot of vultures running around.
I'm new to it and sometimes things like this discourage me.
Better not comment anything at all than write random effortless comments.
Support to the art communities <3

I used to just leave spammy comments alone, but I'm getting a little fed up with it haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01