Surreal Art Contest: Entries (Part 6)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

contest6.jpg

We've reached the deadline on my Surreal Art Contest but I still have plenty of pieces to show you.

I'll be showcasing every piece of submitted artwork. Whether or not these pieces end up being winners, they all deserve some time in the spotlight. Depending on how many submissions come in, I may have to continue showcasing at least a day or two past the contest deadline. The winners won't be announced until all submitted works have been showcased.

I'm bumping up the number of featured works yet again, this time from five to seven. Otherwise we'll be here for ages with no winners announced!

And here they are!


1

This first piece is done by @jhongo. It was created used a variety of media including pencil, crayons, markers and watercolour all on a wood backdrop. A robed alien is deep in meditation like a Buddhist priest in front of a patterned background.

Check out the original post here to send the artist some love.


2

The next entry comes from @spaceginger. It's a striking digital painting of a broken skull with vibrant colours dripping from its eye sockets and a bright light shining from its forehead. Definitely eye-catching!


3

@noellesevilla is the artist behind this piece. It's a coloured pen and ink drawing of people swimming in a fishbowl. Though I can't speak to the artist's intentions, I can definitely think of a few potential hidden meanings in this work of art.

Check out her original post to leave an upvote.


4

This wonderful watercolour painting was created by @zoniaespina. A woman lies comfortably in a sea shell as plants grow out of her hair. I really love the muted colours used in this piece!

If you like it too, make sure you give the artist an upvote on the original post.


5

This illustration by @paskadom really has a retro feel despite its contemporary theme. There are so many things surrounding the giant Facebook icon, I don't even know where to begin my comment! I hope you'll take some time to look at this picture to really appreciate it's depth and detail.

Give it an upvote here.


6

Next up is something that began as a character sketch and became a digital, 8-bit style pixelated work of art. @lovesoldier69 created this wonderful depiction of a merman with futuristic shades.

Head on over to the original post to leave a comment and a vote.


7

The final entry of today's showcase is a surreal self portrait by @aysenurluk. She paints herself with three sets of eyes and a few extra limbs, holding a paint palette that contains all the darkness and glimmering light of space.

Check out the original post here and please leave an upvote.


That's it for now. I'll be sharing more submission every day until I've gone through all of them. Stay tuned!

I'd like to say a big thanks to all those who have participated in the contest. Stay tuned for my announcement of the winners and be on the lookout for more art contests.

~Seth

Previous Entry Showcases

Sort:  

That's my sisters goldfish bowl hahaha. ♥️

@sethlinson love the first two pics, by the way, I nominated you to take part in the 7 day black and white challenge in my latest post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11