🎨 "Thoughts are free" - are they really?

in #art7 years ago

Thoughts are free! At least they should be, right? But most people today don't seem to do more than just "function". Their thoughts are locked into a narrow path controlled by media mumbo-jumbo and advertisement...

auge.jpg

As you might know already, I also make the frames for my glass originals. That way, they are one of a kind, "custom tailored" to fit the painting. Quite often I add moving doors, but sometimes there is a sort of evolutionary process and the purpose of the doors is changing. Sometimes they become too small to serve a real function or they are as big as in this piece, so that they could not possibly be closed anymore. At this point they have evolved into a stable part of the frame, but although the hinges are still visible, there is no function left:


gedanken-mini.jpg



I usually start with a very rough pencil sketch and then frequently add different elements together in photoshop to work out the composition. Here I combined the photo of a model I worked with before and some drawings I had prepared on paper and scanned.


spalt-II_3-300x851.jpg


I also use the PC for repetitive tasks or designing my mechanics and elements like spirals

cham_1_prt-300x293.jpg

In the next step I create my pencil drawing on glass

1-300x412.jpg

Sometimes I airbrush a layer of color and erase the lights

wip-2.jpg


After fine tuning the drawing and adding several layers of color, it all looks like this


gedanken_1.jpg


Here some details

cham.jpg

ged-1.jpg

And finally, the finished piece

gedanken.jpg



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


pfeil-1-200x88.jpg

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg



Please support Art For a Little Brave Heart

aflbh.jpg

Sort:  

what a beautiful and at the same time sad picture.

My mother used to sing the German song "Die Gedanken sind frei" - she was imprisoned by the Russians after WW II - very often she was singing or humming the verses. During the week of her death I was singing it to her while she was staying in hospital.

Freedom of speech and freedom of thoughts is a very sensible topic and I am glad you touched it in your very own way. Thank you.

Of course this would have to really touch you with the memories you have. For me its a rather cynical piece in a sweet coating, as I don't believe thoughts are really that free anymore. Not in the sense, that they can't be read (yet), but because I think we are very much manipulated and therefore our thoughts are heavily influenced by someone else... not necessarily always someone who has our best interest in mind :-)

That's for sure. I think therefore it is overly important to know myself, who I am and what impact I do want to have in life and on others. Not to forget, having my own dark sides and wanting others to "shut up" when their opinions don't meet mine. It's good to being caught in the act by myself when I realize that I am on the verge of doing something harmful.

I think, thoughts ARE free and always will be, but people censored themselves within their own minds when circumstances got really rough and tight. I don't want to be pathetic but as long as I am not willing to die for my freedom of thinking, I am in danger to be manipulated.

With the way we live, I... think.. we could be considered relatively free spirits. Nevertheless we can easily get caught up in taking position on something by being manipulated somehow.

Take the slogan "Spiegel Leser wissen mehr"... I have been personally involved in two stories they published back in the 80s, which were poorly researched and full of prejudice. Still the educated German takes everything they write as true and thus form a certain (manipulated) opinion...

With our computers, we are constantly feed things to lead us a certain way. Next time you grab a washing powder, ask yourself, why you take this and not another.... and so on.

Every news has four sides and we believe in things, because we trust the source. But still, in most cases its more believing, than actually knowing. Its great, that in our society (most)thoughts are not being restricted, but it doesn't mean, they are not influenced 👽

where knowledge ends, trust begins. We cannot live without trust. And even after our trust was betrayed life goes an and gave us a lesson. The moment I will lose my faith in myself and others I will be lost.

Clever compilation!

The peeping Tom behind the doors with a butterfly over her head (perhaps her innocense? Her thoughts that want to fly freely around but they are stuck, motionless right on the top of her head? Or the butterfly is the last stage of her self development, the caterpillar that waited and waited until it's finally ready to spread her wings and let her mind run free?)

The chameleon in heels? The multiple personalities a woman has to show (just like the animal shifts colors and patterns to mingle with the environment)? And why is it on an orchid? Does it imply that women, incentivized by the primitive instinct of reproduction and mating show many faces in order to accomplish their goal (mating)?

Is it the contadicting selves within a woman? The innocent soul that wants to fly away free, but is still chained to its primitive needs for race sustainance and therefore has to portray something different on the outside, but deep down she is nothing but a child?

Ah! A picture with lots of messages, but wonderful as always!! :D

Clever girl, if I may say so :-)

Very interesting interpretations, adding a few aspects, I never even thought of. Its great to see my work through your eyes with your thoughts. Not going to spoil that, with what I had in mind :-)

Thank you!

Well, I guess a picture bears different meanings for anyone based on our experiences. That's the fun about art, where I can see innocence, others might see evil and an angel for one might be a devil for someone else... The human mind is incredible!

That's exactly it! And that is, why for me the artwork is more than the creation of it. Its also the perception of it :-)

Beautiful craft , A timeless creation that I feel money can't value.
This is what human exiatence is all about. Making our stamp as we travel this short journey, be proud!.... always hard work and dedication involved , that much is clear to see !

Even your comment is a poem! Thank you very much for your appreciation :-)

awe Thank You Kind Sir' :D

I love how the door and hinges aren't useable but still add beauty/framing to the piece. Absolutely gorgeous!

Thank you very much :-)

I have experimented a lot with very long vertical formats - mainly in my fine art practice, but I also made a few as katharsisdrill... This one for example:

https://www.datataffel.dk/posts/617364

Japanese woodcut also had some very oblong formats.

I always am attracted by that long vertical format. The most extreme I did so far was 200x20cm!

Love that piece you did! Thank you very much for sharing the link. For convenience, you could always post the artwork directly in your comments. With the quality of your art I don't mind :-)

Yes, I think I usually do put the image there, but I was in a hurry. I had to wash the floor and publish a Phill page :)

this is mind-blowing - and a challenge as well to come up with quality posts like this, which sets the bar quite high!

Thanks a lot, Otto :-)

Brilliant depiction of a tunnel vision. But with so little oxygen left can we expect anything more?

Hehe, of course you had to see that :-)

There's no way i could miss it :) That's another thing i love about your work. Little details, placed perfectly that make all sense.

thought-police.jpg

Looks like you've had too much to think!

Haha... that's great! Reminds me of Zappa's central scrutinizer :-b

I really think your frames have become an integral part of your art, but they're not distracting from the actual artwork. You know I love them. ;)

Absolutely right Tim, thank you for noticing!

Like your introduction on steemit Welcome :-)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77