Portrait Selfie (Last WIP)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Steem Queen

This is my last work in progress!

I still have a lot of work to do on the face, the mouth, cheeks, bridge of my nose, lips, lighten up the color on my neck and yellow/shadow my teeth a little bit. My neck looks too long because there is a line I haven't put in it yet to define it.

When I say I have a lot more work to do, I am talking a couple of hours worth of work tomorrow. After I get the colors right I will be outlining with pen and ink.

The last part of this piece I will be adding highlights and details and cleaning up my lines. I decided to go with the real color of my skin. I am not white or pink, I looked too young keeping my skin so light.

Boy you can see how much time I spend outside in the garden. I kept mixing the paint and applying it to my skin and I kept having to add dark brown and blue to match my real skin color. I will be adding some wrinkles and fixing my mouth.

The painting is not exactly like my real mouth. I keep moving the lip line up and down trying to match my lip line...It's driving me crazy! My hair isn't this gray yet but it will be in a couple years. I can't wait! I will be turning 58 years old next month!

I will be lightening up the orange in the lower background as well. I don't like how bright it is, it's taking away from my flower headdress.

15 x 12 Watercolor, pen, and ink on mixed media paper 2017

(WIP 1) My conversation with @builderofcastle, look in the comment section

WIP 2

Down But Not Out (WIP3)

(WIP) 4

Mucha's Printing Process, revolt against industrialization (ugly art) of art.

In an age when the industrial revolution was making mass-produced goods available, it also seemed to be increasingly making them ugly and diminishing the role of the artist/craftsman in society. Art Nouveau was a revolt against this ugliness and there is a strong social component to the work that we no longer see.

Alphonse Mucha (Wiki)

Photography Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Oh I'm checking out every single post of you, I really Like this painting. You sure don't look like 58! I would say 38 max! Perhaps it's your yoga practice.... ;) My experience with self-portraits is dreadful hahaha, not only I cannot adjust the parts of my face so that the final result looks similar to me, I also tend to draw myself uglier than I really am :)

I think I made myself prettier than I really am....hahaha, this my first time drawing myself. I didn't have a very nice family, I grew up hearing how ugly and unlovable I was, painting myself those old feelings came up a little bit. But after all the meditation retreats I've done they were only a whispering of their old selves....

I think everyone should try and draw or paint themselves.....hehehe

Looking great, my friend. I am definitely going to have a go at doing one of these myself at some point. They look really fun to design and create. :)

I also look forward to the day I have a head of distinguished grey hair. :)

Yeah, I am looking forward to getting old now that I've figured out how to make this old new body work. It takes different kinds of fuel. It's like I get a new old body every ten years. Like taking a nice car and trading it in for an older car that is completely different....hahaha

wow, amazing art, your drawing is awesome, Steem Queen very nice

The face seems quite challenging but I think you've put in a nice job on the face it's really awesome

Thank you @josediccus, working on humans freaks me out but working on my face is even more nerve-wracking.

Yeah it's like operating on oneself lol but rather you've done well really

v nice keep working.

Yeah I have several hours more work. I was so scared to start on my face....hahaha, thank you @chullbull

hehehe .. ;nice to meet , wellcome

That is great and going to really amazing when done! Very nice @reddust!

I hope this one will turn out, with each piece I am never sure.

Amazing art like always - Good night my honest friend and beautiful lady

Rest well my friend @dobartim!

This post has received a 100% upvote worth $0.17 from @minnowspower thanks to: @theguruasia

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid
One small UpVote of Yours build MinnowsPower and MinnowsPower will Not Forget Your Support...!!!
(Limited Service Offer) Send 0.01 SBD and get $0.025 - $0.03 worth upvote from @MinnowsPower

It just keeps getting better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72