Selfie Portrait

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Figuring Out The Color Palette

I've decided to use gouache on the face. The ink marks on the lips and checks are used as markers and will eventually be covered. I am going to add some color and contour to my face, which Mucha didn't because of primitive printing presses. Thanks to @builderofcastles I know why Mucha's prints had a limited color palette.

I will us dark blues for my back ground but I haven't figured out what pattern I want. I will be painting the background dark navy blue and the "Red Dust Art peacock blue. There is enough busy going on in the foreground and I like to keep the foreground patterns on the gown breast plate and jewelry as the main focus.

I've learned that using limit color schemes when painting helps keep my picture clean looking and vibrant.

Before my hair started graying I had almost black hair with red highlights. The subject will have dark brown hair with heavy black outlines.

My conversation with @builderofcastle, look in the comment section

Mucha's Printing Process, revolt against industrialization (ugly art) of art.

In an age when the industrial revolution was making mass-produced goods available, it also seemed to be increasingly making them ugly and diminishing the role of the artist/craftsman in society. Art Nouveau was a revolt against this ugliness and there is a strong social component to the work that we no longer see.

First ink lines which will be thickened after the color has been applied

Colors for skin, reflections in gems, and background.

15 x 12 pencil in mixed media paper 2017

Alphonse Mucha (Wiki)

I used this portrait has my template. I am not good enough to make up one myself. Maybe next year I can draw this way from my minds eye. That's how I've learned to draw since I was a child, I copy artist I like.

This is one of the photo's I used, I took several pictures in basically the same pose and took the best angle of the nose, eyes, smile from each photograph. I gave 57 year old face a little face lift. I wish getting a facelift was this easy and cheap in real life!

Sell Art Online

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

you and your skill both are beautiful

Have a great day

Your color pallet looks good.

Two colors on the opposite sides of the color wheel usually makes for a very pleasing picture.

You do not have the brown on your pallet, but it is mixture of the two colors. I will be looking forward to how it lays against the back drop.

A nice professional Prussian blue with orange will make a very dark brown....I think I will use Prussian blue for the dark blue background.

Yours is looking better than the template.

I would of loved to see Mucha's original painting of Sarah, thank you @manorvillemike.

You look like a Greek Goddess

I think every woman has the spark of creation within her, we create life! We are all Goddesses <3

beautiful ,& awesome painting dear

Thank you @zahidson, each painting or drawing is an adventure. Thank you!

nice picture.
it's been a long time not going anywhere.
my siblings miss you.
maybe he'll be over soon.

Sorry for not stopping by, I should be caught up on my tasks here at home by the 1st of January. Here in America Christmas is terribly busy with lots of functions at my grandkids schools. My grandson and I are taking coding classes together. We are learning how to code for Minecraft. I will post on this later one, I am finally going to learn how to code and my grandson is too, he is 13 years old.

I hope your family is dong well, have a lovely week @safrijals.

yes thank you my family is fine. and I hope your family is the same

That’s an amazing piece of art, @reddust! Upvoted&followed!

That is a sweet photo!

thanks you so mach...

Amaziiingggg.
How are you....??
my sweetest brother..😘😘😘😘

I am doing well and I wish you well, but I am more like your Grandmother rather than a brother....just teasing, I know your first language isn't English <3

yes i hope you understand with our language.

I understand you can also write in your own language and I will use google translator. I've worked with people all over the world when I helped organize Buddhist teachings with my teacher. So I have a lot of patience and understanding. Most of my Buddhist teachers hardly spoke English, my first teacher, a Korean Buddhist monk taught me the Dharma and I taught him English.

Iya saya akan dengan bahasa indonesia

Google menerjemahkan membuat menerjemahkannya menjadi mudah.

Iya memang.
Saya sangat berterima kasih kepada anda

that he has come

silently you

really miss you @papma

I love the grille lololol....the old car needs a new paint job ;-)

I kinda feel like that car when I look at my photos for this picture ....hahaha (hugs)

i know this car is very old but ilike it... i think you like this ha ha ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84