Selfie Portrait (WIP)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A friend asked me to post a smiling selfie, I am not very photogenic and I don't enjoy taking pictures of myself or having someone take a picture of me. I have never done a self portrait so I did that instead. I will be finishing this piece using watercolor, pen and Ink. I like working out the detail before outlining with ink. I did a lot of erasing on this piece. Copying Alfons Maria Mucha's style is difficult but I love his style. I've been copying Mucha's drawings since I was a young teenager. He is one of my favorite artist of all time!

15 x 12 pencil in mixed media paper 2017

Alphonse Mucha (Wiki)

I used this portrait has my template. I am not good enough to make up one myself. Maybe next year I can draw this way from my minds eye. That's how I've learned to draw since I was a child, I copy artist I like.

This is one of the photo's I used, I took several pictures in basically the same pose and took the best angle of the nose, eyes, smile from each photograph. I gave 57 year old face a little face lift. I wish getting a facelift was this easy and cheap in real life!

Sell Art Online

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Very cool drawing. For me it makes you look like a Viking queen 👸

I am a Mucha flower girl, thank you @dandesign86!

The painting is Mucha beautiful!

now your art work in a full-fillment as you decided to make self portraite.

@sheikh27, thank you, my first selfie portrait too!

@reddust,
Wow a very cool artwork is building now! I could see ya there!

Cheers~

Thank you @guruasia, it's all about the love of the process, finishing the piece is nice too. <3

That is a wonderful drawing. I look forward to seeing the final version.

I look forward to finishing because in many ways drawing a picture is like opening a gift. I still don't know how my pictures will turn out when I start them.

I know what you mean. I have little drawing talent, but I do sometimes sketch odd-shaped mandalas. Just doodling really. But it is always interesting how even if I do have something in mind before I start, the end result usually looks completely different from that before image.

Love this Mucha style, you done it great. Very nice use of lines and great drawing this is.

I am finally getting a sense of the lines, I've been working on lines for a year and it's been a struggle!

wow, can't wait to see how this comes out. The contour drawing looks really good too!! All you have to do is color it now!! (I know...easier said than done lol)

I feel like I could make a coloring bock after a year on Steemit, I know exactly what you mean. But applying the line and coloring is less stressful when I have everything mapped out first! Thank you @allstarrunner!

"But applying the line and coloring is less stressful when I have everything mapped out first! "
Ab-so-lute-ly!!

I also love the process of drawing ... especially the first part, drawing the idea out.

wow and also another wow! I love Mucha's style and this self portrait it's really beautiful and very well done, I can't image how more beautiful will be when you'll finish it! ^_^

I can see the finished piece and my minds eye and I am going to make myself look like a goddess....hahaha!

When I was learning how to draw my favorite artist were Mucha, Dalí, and Hopper.

Some years ago I watched some sketches and drawing of Mucha in the Museum in Prague, fantastic!!! (I love also Hopper, his way to represent the lights of sun on the scenes is something really special!)

Hopper's works were surgical in detail, lighting and color but also his work of everyday life was so stark but yet beautiful...I loved his detail work!

Portrait is great, you look at least 10 years younger, you have a beautiful smile.

Thank you for the idea @dobartim and the compliment!

The compliment is really honest, you are a beautiful woman with a very good and noble character.

I am glad you can see me! hahaha <3

If you were not a good person, I would not talk twithyou for a million dollars. You are an amazing lady

That looks so cool, I also love Mucha and learn by copying the masters!
Here's mine I did a while ago.

Great work @geenaizzy! I love the colors <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86