Mr. Wednesday ~ Art by Red Dust

in #art7 years ago (edited)

"Confused But Intrigued," Muttered Mr. Wednesday.

That's how I felt Mr. Wednesday. The show really isn't about the old gods and the new gods fighting over humanities fidelity. The show is about which is better, the old ways of power or the new ways of power. My opinion absolute power corrupts absolutely, whether you be conservative or liberal. If I picked sides I would be picking different flavors of insanity. I am staying out of this! Politics whether it be the gods or human is all about insanity.

Mr. Wednesday is played by Ian McShane who plays the old Norse God Odin, Odin has many names from all over the northern countries. Mr. Wed. has decided to rally the old gods together to wage war against the new gods, such as media who is played by Gillian Anderson. Right now I don't understand why Mr. Wednesday wants to go to war because it looks like he doesn't really care for humans. Maybe it's his love of war and he is looking for a fight.

People's attention is fragmented by media, entertainment, and digital devices. This series is just as fragmented and will play into our fragmented attention span as it jumps back and forth between characters and story lines while walking a thin line of the esoteric mythological stories only a few can actually understand.

I enjoyed the show tremendously because I like the weird and strange ways of telling stories by Neil Gaiman's book, "American Gods," from which this series is taken. The director and screenwriters are also experts at spinning wild and strange stories that walk the thin knife edge of losing the audience because they get too far out there for the normal viewing audience.

If you want to know more about the god Odin, the series "American Gods," and the characters I left links sprinkled through all my previous post regarding progress of my painting, which are linked below. The visuals in this series are also dreamlike and surreal, over the top using colors to evoke emotions with extreme attention to detail of costume and sets. I don't know which I like best, the weird story, the way the story is told, or the artistic detail to costume and set design.

The TV Series, "American Gods."

22 x 19 inches, 190lb watercolor paper, watercolor and gouache. If you want to buy this piece I may not sell it because I love it so much. I'm framing and hanging above my mythology library of books. Also I worked around 66 hours on this painting and if I charged by the hour most people couldn't afford the price.

Cast of Characters

Thank You

Thank you for your comments, your honest and heartfelt critiques, your ideas and thoughts exploring this idea with me. I am surprised how much I love communicating in this way. I really love exploring ideas with other people, something new I discovered about myself on Steemit, besides improving my painting skill-set this last year.

Sketch and Story

I started with an eye!

First Layers Of Colors

Second Layer

Mr. Wednesday's Hands

Mr. Wednesday's Ravens

Just About Finished

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

perfection in your hands that made this art work , 100% orignality i found in these art sketches , how beautifuly you made these , really like it alot , you must capitalize this art by making more great sketches ahead , really god gifted person you are , and i also wanna dedicate here the great artist @yoganarchista she is also like you and made one of the unique skecthes that you made also, really good, i also look forward to see more great work of you in future , thanks for sharing this with us, steem on dear

@yoganarchista is awesome, thank you @shanzaylizay! I will endeavor to fulfill your desire!

ooo great to know that you also like the work of @yoganarchista , i think you both are the multi talented persons on steemit in the field of art , really God gifted you both are thanks again and pleasure is always mine my dear,

Thank you both very much for the comliment and the great support <3

Another great piece of work. I always look forward to see what you are doing. I was busy for a while did you finish your earth home?

I haven't started the blueprint or the room layout yet. That project is slated for this coming September, I have to finish my 1957 Chevy which will probably take the rest of August. I need to check out what you are dong as well. I've been all wrapped up in Odin's arms, he is also the master of ecstasy...:p

1957 Chevy, you are a woman of many interests.

Too many interests, I make task lists I try and not deviate from or I would get nothing done!

I do too. Though I really don't make lists. Being a freelancer I pretty much am driven by when work comes in and I turn very little of it away. Have to make hay while the sun shines I guess.

Yes, you never know when it's gonna rain, may you bring in a good harvest this year <3

its really a good and new story for me @reddust..and and exciting on gods ur articles

You should read Neil Gaiman's Books, I love them all!

http://www.neilgaiman.com/works/Books/

Very cool :-) Upvoted and resteemed :-)

Wow, thank you @lichblick, I like the Northern Gods, I actually enjoyed reading up on Norse Mythology as I painted.

You are very welcome. I am fan of the series american gods :-)

Oh! You like the weird and esoteric as well, I don't feel so alone now.

The painting came out great and you made me curios about this character played by Ian McShane.

Odin is one of the most complicated God I've read about in all my years of reading about unseen beings. I will continue my studies about Odin, he is weird, wonderful, and very dangerous.

alwasys a pleasure seeing your post's and art

ur article always good and gives some new knoledge mam

Yes, mythological stories are actually teaching stories, stories to show humans how to behave or and how not to behave. Stories that take us from the animal realm to being a true human.

You should be called ART because you are good at what you do. What a wonderful work of hand

we all are art, our own creation, thank you @gbenga!

great to see the progress :)

My favourite one! <3

mine too, @yaan, if i wasn't so scared of Odin power and being a trickster, i would want to meet him and become his student in the alchemy of wisdom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99