"American God's " Fanart (WIP) Mr. Wednesday

in #art7 years ago (edited)

First Layers Of Color Are Done

American Gods

Then I was fertilized and grew wise;

From a word to a word I was led to a word,

From a work to a work I was led to a work.

22 x 19 inches, 190lb watercolor paper, watercolor and gouache.

Mr. Wednesday has been so kind and accommodating! Most of my practice time over the years has to do with fantasy, nature, and animals. I've painted a few people in the past but I was never very comfortable, humans are hard to draw and paint!

Since 2013 I've worked on the human figure almost every day, practice makes perfect right? I've noticed when I catch the personality I can almost feel the person start talking to me. Usually it starts with the eyes. They seem to follow me and I stop to say hello to that personality that's taking life on my paper. It's one of the nicest feelings I have when painting. Same thing happens with animals, amphibians, and fish. When all the lines add up the personality pops out!

I am painting Ian McShane's character in the series, "American Gods." Mr. Wednesday, which is another name for the Norse god Odin, so we still give lip service to the old gods in the days of the week.

Odin the Master of Ecstasy

Sketch and Story

I started with an eye!

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Best artwork i have seen till now so great this is.

Hi @cutiepie, there are some amazing artists on steemit. I have been able to get obsessive with my art, your voting has helped me pay my bills and focus on my art in a way I have never been able to do....thank you <3

Nice painting😊

you draw some amazing art
will love to see more following
you and upvoted.

Thank you @steemphotography, I've been working every day this last year on my art and I am glad you are enjoying the fruit of my labor.

Fantastic artwork looks really great.

Incredible art this is very beautifully made

I hope it turns out! I never know from one painting to the next which one will catch the spark of creativity.

Amazing painting! You really captured his character

I'm trying @drewley, I can feel his personality when I look at the painting, so I think I'm heading in the right direction.

:D @reddust step by step I like a lot this style maybe i will do it
AMAZING!!!!

I want a new "wow" gif lolol, thank you @yusaymon!

hahahahaha me too :(

Ian McShane, love him so much! One of my favourite actors!
I'm very curious how it would be like.
Not sure how you make it so close to real one, it's looking great right now!

I am curious as well @yaan, I have no clue how this one will turn out. Human's are very difficult, and gods, well, hopefully I won't lose one of my eyes.

I'm pretty sure the drawing will go out well. :) But yes, human faces are even more difficult in watercolours.

wow @reddust this is truly one of the best artwork
the details are amazing

More details to come, the background will be full of clouds and lightening, Mr. Wednesday face will look fuller and I'm adding red more white to cover the yellows and browns which will give the face a nice flesh tone.

i will be looking forward to see that
will be checking your blog post for that :)

Step by Step paint the final result it's great reddust.

I am so excited over Mr. Wednesday's eyes lining up ;-) I have the hardest time with lining up the eyes.

Yes it looks especially difficult because it has some shades

The hard part is the hands and face, getting the geometry correct. When you can get the lines from ears, nose, mouth, ears, eyes, jawline, and the shape of the head correct that's when the personality comes out. It's all math, I'm horrible at numbers but have an eye for spatial geometric reasoning .

Spatial reasoning involves the ability to think and reason by comparing, manipulating, and transforming mental pictures. Spatial sense comprises two components: spatial visualization and spatial orientation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50