"American God's " Fanart (WIP) Mr. Wednesday

in #art7 years ago

Starting With The Eyes

American Gods

I was going to take the day off, however Mr. Wednesday a.k.a the Norse god Odin wanted to come out and play. I told him I don't play with gods because of all the stories I've read. Everyone I've read about that plays with one of the old gods of ancient lore ends up on the short end of the stick. Odin whispered in my ear, "being on the short end of the stick may be fun and full of great adventures and maybe some wisdom as well." I'm a sucker for wisdom, although I forgot to ask him what kind of wisdom he was offering. I did tell Odin I am not going to offer one of my eyes nor will I offer anyone else's eye. Odin lost his eye but gained a lot of wisdom I read whilst researching who Odin is in Norse Mythology. In fact I've decided not to talk to this God because he is a trickster. So in the old Norse tales to get Odin's attention and favor one must cut out their own eye and offer it up as a sacrifice. I am sure the eye offering has to do with insight into reality as it is, true sight that does not need fleshy eyes to see....

Ian McShane's face is beautiful to me, I love all the folds and wrinkles. He doesn't have to say a word, his face can tell the story. Mr. Wednesday is trying to gather up all the old gods humans used to worship but are now fading away from lack of attention. Most of the Gods, except the God of War have taken to low paying menial labor or walking on the wrong side of the law. Mr. Wednesday is a con artist, a long fall from being a leading deity in Norse Mythology. Mr. Wednesday wants his power back and is trying to start a war with the new gods of our world, science, technology, and media. I can't wait till next season and find out if Mr. Wednesday has accomplished his goal. I'm off to paint some more, I left links if you want to know more about the movie or learn more about Odin, “Master of ecstasy and wisdom I left a few links.

Odin the Master of Ecstasy

22 x 19 inches, 190lb watercolor paper, watercolor and gouache.

Sketch and Story

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Gambar yang menakutkan... Hehe

The special thing you have done is that you have captured the progress of the painting.. Great finish..

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This promises to be a wonderful portrait! I also always start with the eyes (even despite the fact my teacher always scolded me for it, saying that I have to work with the picture in general). But our nature is such that we feel much more comfortable when the model already "looks":)

I start with the eyes too, especially when I paint birds. :) Can't wait to see your final stage of the painting.

This one will be interesting.

This is now coming alive :D

OMG reddust this is incredible ^ ^

@reddust,
New version of ODIN seems superb artwork. Because according to the Norse mythology, Odin is associated with healing, death, royalty, knowledge, battle, sorcery, poetry, and frenzy.
Here it seems like the new version of ODIN comes with death... (Crows are meaning nasty things in my country)

Cheers and awaiting to see the final version of this artwork~

Please show us the final piece once it is completed.... It looks so good....

Check outy drawings too at my blog
https://steemit.com/@asmartian/feed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48