"American God's " Fanart (WIP) Mr. Wednesday

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A Drawing For A Watercolor Painting

American Gods

Ian McShane is one of my favorite character actors. Like a good bottle of wine that has aged over time Ian has improved his portraying a mix of good and evil within a complicated character. Ian played a saloon keeper that could curse so poetically that Shakespeare's prose was put to shame. Al would rather kill you if you screwed up on too many times, unless he could make money on keeping you alive. However, Swearengen had a soft heart he had to hide to stay alive. Deadwood had amazing writer David Milch and his writing skills showed in Deadwood's dialogue. I love to curse as well, that's the hook that caught me and I continued to watch Deadwood, falling in love with the bad boy Al Swearengen.

Now I am falling in love with the big bad boy God Odin played by Ian McShane. Neil Gaiman wrote the Book, "American Gods," which the series is based on. Writers are Bryan Fuller Michael Green.

Odin and all the Gods of our ancient past have fallen on hard times. No one leaves offerings, sacrifices, prayers for the old Gods and they have had to take up modern jobs to survive. Odin had coming to America when some Vikings were stranded on a Northeastern Shore of America. They prayed to their god Odin to rescue them by stabbing out their eyes. Don't ask me to write out why this happened. You can watch the show instead. That's how Odin came to America, he liked it so much he stayed and found he had a talent to con people out of their treasures. Nature hates a vacuum and new Gods have taken birth, the Gods of media and technology. The old gods are not leaving this world quietly, there are war drums beating and the gods are going to war.

The Norse God Odin

Yeah, I know Odin's eyes are wonky but I had to shade them in an odd way for laying out my paint to paper.

22 x 19 inches, 190lb watercolor paper, pencil drawing for a watercolor painting.

American Gods Character List

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Woow.. That's a wonderful painting.. I really loved it..!

Art needs time and dedication indeed. Wonderful!

I guess it's not an OCD when you get compulsive about art. Thank you @aci7

Not at all in my opinion. Art is a form of sublimation.

An excellent start to the project with a great sketch @reddust. You may not be familiar with it but you might want to check out McShane's first major role on television, 'Lovejoy'. It was quite a big hit in the 90s and long before he managed to find favour with Hollywood. He plays an antique dealer. It's actually quite a good little series. :)

@tonyr, I'll check it out, I've already started on a book suggestion by Vernor Venge, The Deepness In The Sky

Great talent to write and paint :). Red how much time do you invest to do your artwork the average time?

@dim753, around 6 to 8 hours a day. Thank you for complimenting my writing, that's my weak area :p

wooow a couple of hours, nah you write well in my concept

hahaha, thank you (hugs)

Yes, you not only paint Great, but you write Great. I just posted our finished Sound Poem - The Golden Spiral - I hope you like it :)

I love your work, great mixing of talent, I resteemed as well, made me cry a little.

very amazing,upvoute and follow back

Awesome job!. Big American Gods fan here. I feel the same way about Ian McShane, there's a line he has in one of the first chapters:

"Religion inspires in those who fear nothing fear of the gods, and using that fear requires a certain element of f##ked up"

I just loved that series instantly when I saw that scene. My favorite character is Laura though (The dead wife), quite complex <3

Love your work :-) Thanks!!

Yes, the master swearer! I remember him... XD

wow great going looking forward to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53